• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Icc Announces An All Female Panel To Officiate In The Womens T20 World Cup

ICC announces an all-female panel to officiate in the Women's T20 World Cup

image-lde84rb7An all-women panel will officiate in the World Cup [Source: Twitter]

In a significant development, the International Cricket Council has announced an all-female panel to officiate in the upcoming Women's T20 World Cup in South Africa. This is the first time an ICC event will be officiated by only female match officials. 

In his reaction, the ICC general manager Wasim Khan expressed his delight, citing the apex body's eagerness to promote equal participation of women as the primary reason behind the decision. 

He also reverberated ICC's determination to support Women's cricketers and officials and help Women's cricket grow leaps and bounds. 

Here's what Wasim stated

"We are thrilled to announce this panel of match officials for the Women’s T20 World Cup. Women’s cricket has been growing rapidly in recent years and as part of that, we have been building the pathways to ensure more women have the opportunity to officiate at the highest level,

“This announcement is a reflection of our intent in this space and just the start of our journey where men and women enjoy the same opportunities across our sport. We are committed to continuing to support our female match officials and provide opportunities to showcase their talents on the global stage. I wish them all the best for the tournament."

Meanwhile, ICC manager Snehal Pradhan explained how this decision would inspire millions of young girls to pursue cricket as a profession.


Match officials at the Women's T20 World Cup 2023

The thirteen-member panel comprises ten umpires and three match referees. 

Match Referees: GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa), Michell Pereira (Sri Lanka)

Umpires: Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (New Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India), Nimali Perera (Sri Lanka)

Also Read: He’s probably not (at his peak): Ricky Ponting on Babar Azam