• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Charlie Dean Alice Capsey Rewarded As Ecb Announce Central Contracts For England Women

Charlie Dean, Alice Capsey rewarded as ECB announce central contracts for England Women

image-l9zu5jmpAlice Capsey [Source: Twitter]

On Wednesday, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) released an 18-member list of women's players awarded central contracts for the 2022-23 cycle.

Young allrounder Alice Capsey, who has been a revelation since her debut, is one of six players to earn their first central contract. 

Apart from Capsey, Lauren Bell, Charlie Dean, Freya Kemp, Emma Lamb, and Issy Wong are the other five players who have been handed their first central contracts from the ECB. 

Lauren Winfield-Hill, off-spinner Mady Villiers, Katie George, and Georgia Elwiss, who were part of the contracts for 2021-22, are the notable absentees from the 18-member list this year.

Anya Shrubsole and Fran Wilson, who recently announced retirement from international cricket, also missed their contracts. The contract resumes on November 1 and will last for the next 12 months. 

The Director of England Women's Cricket, Jonathan Finch, expressed her delight while announcing the contracts for England Women's cricketers. 

She also conceded that the six players, who have been awarded the central contracts for the first time, will provide a new look and bring more balance to the team. 

Here's what Finch said: 

"It's great to be able to share the list of centrally contracted England Women's cricketers for the next 12 months, and huge congratulations to all those who have earned their contract. Introducing six new names onto the list of contracted players is exciting and provides a new look and feel to the group,

"We have a really exciting 12 months of cricket ahead and we feel this group of players will form the foundations of our side that will take us through various bilateral series, the Women's Ashes, and the ICC Women's T20 World Cup."

England Women central contracts for 2022/23

Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Katherine Brunt, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Tash Farrant, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Heather Knight, Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt 

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli becomes the highest run-getter in T20 World Cup history