Rohit Sharma Equals MS Dhoni's Record Of Most T20I Wins As Indian Captain

image-lri3v5fcRohit Sharma in action []

In a remarkable achievement, veteran opener Rohit Sharma became the most successful Indian captain in T20 Internationals following India's victory over Afghanistan in the nerve-wrecking third T20I in Bengaluru. Rohit equalized his predecessor, the legendary MS Dhoni, to achieve the landmark. 

Notably, Rohit had 41 wins under his belt as the Indian skipper prior to this game. So, after India secured their third consecutive victory against the Afghans, the veteran batter took his wins tally to 42, equalising Dhoni in this process. 

Most T20I wins as Indian captain

  • Rohit Sharma- 42* wins in 55 matches
  • MS Dhoni- 42 wins in 72 matches
  • Virat Kohli- 30 wins in 50 matches

Since taking over the reins from Virat Kohli, Rohit has led India to many memorable victories in the shortest format. Besides leading the team to the semifinals of the 2022 T20 World Cup, the Mumbaikar played a pivotal role in India's emphatic triumph in the 2018 Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka. 

The stylish opener, who couldn't open his account in the first two games, had a memorable outing with the bat in the Bengaluru T20I. Besides slamming his fifth T20I ton, Rohit hammered the Afghan bowlers in two Super Overs to ensure India's clinical whitewash over the visitors.