West Indies' Head Coach

Daren Sammy is WI's head coach in white-ball cricket (x.com)Daren Sammy is WI's head coach in white-ball cricket (x.com)

The West Indies team has been guided by a varied and illustrious group of coaches over the years, each imparting unique strategies and perspectives essential for the team's development.

This dynamic coaching history mirrors the broader challenges and achievements encountered by the squad on the international cricket stage.

The list of West Indies coaches includes cricketing legends and brilliant tacticians, whose influential leadership has been crucial in sculpting the team's competitive spirit and tactical play.

Their contributions have not only addressed immediate performance goals but have also set the groundwork for long-term success. Here's a list of West Indies head coaches.

List of West Indies’ Head Coaches

Rohan Kanhai1992-95West Indies
Andy Roberts1995-96West Indies
Malcolm Marshall1996-99West Indies
Sir Vivian Richards (Interim)1999West Indies
Roger Harper
2000-03West Indies
Gus Logie2003-04West Indies
Bennett King2004-07Australia
David Moore (Interim)2007Australia
John Dyson 2007-09Australia
David Williams (Interim)2009-2010West Indies
Ottis Gibson2010-14West Indies
Phil Simmons2015-16West Indies
Stuart Law2017-18Australia
Nic Pothas (Interim)2018South Africa
Richard Pybus (Interim)2019England
Floyd Reifer (Interim)2019West Indies
Phil Simmons2019-2022West Indies
Andre Coley (Interim)2022West Indies
Andre Coley (Test) & Daren Sammy (Limited Overs)2023-PresentWest Indies

West Indies’ T20 Coach: Daren Sammy

Daren Sammy guided West Indies to two T20 World Cups as captain Daren Sammy guided West Indies to two T20 World Cups as captain 

Daren Sammy, a celebrated figure in West Indies cricket, was appointed as the head coach for the limited overs format in May 2023.

His elevation to the role of head coach marked a significant transition from his illustrious playing career, during which he captained the West Indies to two T20 World Cup victories (2012 & 2016).

Now, as the head coach, he is set to guide the team through the T20 World Cup 2024, which will be held in the USA and the Caribbean, adding a home-ground advantage to his strategic arsenal.

West Indies’ Head Coaches: FAQs

Q.1. Who was the first official head coach of the West Indies cricket team?

Answer: Rohan Kanhai was the first official head coach, serving from 1992 to 1995.

Q.2. Which West Indies coach returned to coaching after a previous stint?

Answer: Phil Simmons was reappointed in 2019 after a previous tenure in 2015-16.

Q.3. Who are the current head coaches for the West Indies in different formats?

Answer: Andre Coley oversees the Test team, and Daren Sammy is responsible for the limited-overs format.

Q.4. What is the longest tenure held by a West Indies head coach?

Answer: Ottis Gibson had a notable tenure from 2010 to 2014, making significant improvements in the team’s performance during his time.

Q.5. Who are the current captains of the West Indies cricket team?

Answer: The current captains of the West Indies cricket team are Rovman Powell for T20Is, Shai Hope for ODIs, and Kraig Brathwaite for Test matches.