Shadab Khan rates 'This Pakistan Cricketer' of Babar Azam's Pedigree

image-lfkwew76Saim Ayub displayed his exceptional talent in PSL 8 (Twitter)

As the excitement is brewing in the Pakistani cricketing community for the thrilling T20I series against Afghanistan, skipper Shadab Khan has expressed his eagerness to play alongside the highly-touted youngster Saim Ayub, praising his exceptional talent and stylish batting prowess. 

The stand-in captain even compared Ayub's batting to the likes of Babar Azam and Abdullah Shafique, lauding him as an exceptional talent.

"I think Saim (Ayub) is an exceptional talent. After a very long time, we have got a player like him who we can say is as stylish and good as Babar and Abdullah," said Shadab.

Shadab further has lavished praise on the young left-hander, stating that he is a player of Babar’s level. He went on to say that players like him are a joy to watch, even when they score runs against your own team.

"The way he [Saim] plays, he is a player of Babar's category. Players like them are too good to watch even when they score runs against your team. They are too stylish batters," he added.

The 20-year old opener’s consistent performances in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League 2023 have earned him a well-deserved spot in the national team for the upcoming T20I series. His swashbuckling batting at the top of the order for Peshawar Zalmi has been a sight to behold, scoring 341 runs in 12 matches.

Meanwhile, a majority of main Pakistan players have been rested from the forthcoming series. Shadab has been named the captain of the side after his impressive leadership in PSL 8. Moreover, a host of young and talented players, including Ayub, Azam Khan, Ihsanullah, and Zaman Khan, all of whom have made a name for themselves in the PSL, have also been picked in the squad.

The three-match T20I series between Pakistan and Afghanistan is set to kick off on Friday, March 24. All the games will be played in Sharjah.

T20I Squad vs Afghanistan

Shadab Khan (c), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Faheem Ashraf,  Imad Wasim, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr,  Saim Ayub, Zaman Khan, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir