PCB names selection committee, features Kamran Akmal among others

image-ldlw4a3xHaroon Rasheed (Source: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have named their men’s national selection committee. The board also formed a new junior selection committee, which features several of former Pakistani cricketers.

Kamran Akmal to helm Junior Selection Committee

On February 1, the PCB announced their selection committees for junior and men’s national teams. The board is currently undergoing a revamp phase following the ouster of PCB Chairman Ramiz Raja, thus paving way for the administration to be led by Najam Sethi.

Earlier in January, the PCB appointed Haroon Rasheed as their new chief selector. With Rasheed now serving as chairman of the men’s national selection team, he will be accompanied by former cricketers Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Sami and Yasir Hameed.

Meanwhile, Akmal also has been appointed as the chairman for PCB’s junior selection committee. The other members of the group include cricketer-turned-coach Arshad Khan, and ex-cricketers like Tauseef Ahmed, Shahid Nazir and Shoaib Khan.

One of the first assignments of the men’s senior selection committee would be to select a team for Pakistan’s three-match T20I series against Afghanistan in March. They are also slated to host New Zealand the following month for five T20Is and as many ODI matches.

Also Read: Najam Sethi has experience, and it's no concept that only cricketers should be PCB chairman: Wasim Akram