No, I am calling the batsman back: Buttler's response on Mankading

image-l8lsnsqdDeepti Sharma ran-out Charlie Dean at the non-striker's end (PC: Twitter)

Ever since Deepti Sharma inflicted a run-out of Charlie Dean in the third match of the recently-concluded ODI series between India and England, it has stirred a raging debate and created a divide within the cricketing fraternity.

When England needed 17 runs to win the game, Sharma ran-out Dean at non-striker's end as the latter backed up too far in the bid to cover a few extra steps while stealing a run.

Buttler's take on the matter

Meanwhile, the England white-ball captain Jos Buttler, who currently is in Pakistan, was asked a hypothetical question on talkSPORT. When inquired if one of his team's bowler uses the same mode of dismissal in the World Cup final against Australia, Buttler replied:

"No, I am calling the batsman back. No one wants to see them in the game because they always create such a talking point when it should be about the battle between bat and ball and watching great games of cricket. They always seem to happen at unsavoury times. "

"I understand you have to have the rule there so people can’t just gain an unfair advantage, but I think they should re-word it because the way the law is written gives a lot of grey areas – with the “expected to bowl” part so maybe if they just tightened that up," he added

Notably, the 32-year-old has been run-out in the same form twice. He first was at the receiving end of it in the international match against Sri Lanka and suffered from a similar fate in an Indian Premier League game.

While it is still called 'Mankading', the International Cricket Council has decided to move the dismissal from Law 41 (unfair play) to Law 38 (run-out) with the change coming into effect from October 1, 2002.

Read more: Michael Hogan to retire from professional cricket