• Home
  • Match Hub
  • West Indies Women Squad Named For First Two T20i Matches Against England

West Indies Women squad named for first two T20I matches against England  

image-lbjk10alKarishma Ramharack makes a return to the squad (Source: Twitter)

Cricket West Indies Selection Panel named a 14-member squad for the first two fixtures of the T20I series against England Women. 

The five-match T20I series will take place from Sunday (December 11) to Thursday (December 22).  Sir Vivian Richards Stadium at Antigua will host the first game, while the remaining ones are slated to take place at the Kensington Oval, Barbados. 

The off-spinner Karishma Ramharack marks her entry into the squad, after missing out on the ODI series due to injury. However, the experienced campaigners Shakera Selman and Chedean Nation will miss the series owing to injury concerns sustained in the 50-over series. 

Djenaba Joseph and Trishan Holder, players of the West Indies Women U19 Rising Stars team are named as replacements for Selman and Nation. Both players are currently at Antigua for the high-performance camp ahead of the first-ever T20 World Cup next month. 

Lead Selector Ann Browne-John reckoned that the T20I series will be key for preparing for the T20 World Cup scheduled in February. Further, she added that it is a golden chance for the youngsters to showcase their potential to stake a claim for the WC squad. 

“The upcoming T20 series is vitally important as the team continues its preparations for the World Cup in February 2023. With some of the senior players missing out through injury, it is an ideal opportunity for the other players to start cementing a place in the World Cup team.”

Meanwhile, England secured a series whitewash in the ODI series. The Caribbean team will look to pose a strong challenge in the shortest format and get their confidence in their abilities. 

Full squad ( 1st T20I and 2nd T20I)

Hayley Matthews (Captain), Shemaine Campbelle (Vice Captain), Aaliyah Alleyne, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Shabika Gajnabi, Sheneta Grimmond, Chinelle Henry, Trishan Holder, Djenaba Joseph, Kycia Knight, Karishma Ramharack, Kaysia Schultz, Rashada Williams

Read more: "Sad end to a glorious career": Karthik on Ishan Kishan leapfrogging past Dhawan