• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Tim Davids Hurricanes Fail Heats Playoff Dream Stays Alive

BBL|12: Clinical Brisbane turn to be too good for Tim David's Hurricanes

image-ld4if0d1Brisbane Heat won by 12 runs against Hobart Hurricanes

Despite Tim David and Matthew Wade's fightback, Hobart Hurricanes had to surrender against Brisbane Heat. Michael Neser's three-wicket haul turned out to be the game-changer as the Heat won by 12 runs.

Neser sweeps Hobart

The Hurricanes got off to the worst possible start while chasing 163, as Neser knocked over Ben McDermott on a golden duck and then removed Zak Crawley.  

Matthew Wade was going nicely but he too departed on 45, and the wicket of Wade allowed Heat to get back in the contest. The boundaries dried up and the required run rate crept above 10. Tim David fought the battle against the Heat, with some lusty blows and kept his side in the chase. But with 47 required from the last three overs, David teed off. 

The game went down to the last over and with 18 required to defend in the last over, Spencer Johnson held his nerves to help his side win the game by 12 runs. 

Renshaw-Hain laid the foundation

Earlier, Brisbane Heat were asked to bat first. After losing three wickets inside 10 overs, Matt Renshaw batted tidily and took his time to settle in. He was well-supported by Sam Hain from the other end.

Renshaw took on Meredith in the 15th over but played one shot too many as he was dismissed in the same over on 41. The lower-order batters struggled to get going, but Hain remained unbeaten on 33 off 25 balls to power his side to 162 at the end of their quota of 20 overs. 

Brief Score:

Brisbane Heat - 162/6 (20 overs)
Matt Renshaw - 41 (31), Sam Hain - 33* (25)
Joel Paris - 2/15 (4), Riley Meredith - 2/42 (4)

Hobart Hurricanes - 150/6 (20 overs)
Matthew Wade - 45 (37), Tim David 44 (27)
Michael Neser - 3/27 (4), Matt Renshaw - 1/12 (3)

Result: Brisbane Heat won by 12 runs.

Read More: ICC loses USD 2.5 million after falling victim to an online scam