Aayush Mahajan ∙ Feb 11 2023, 5:46 PM | 2 Min Read

Bengal almost through to the final; Mayank Agarwal and Nikin Jose give Karnataka an outside chance 

image-ldzwknsbArpit Vasavada smashed a double century (Source: Twitter)

While Bengal's Anustup Majumdar and Pradipta Pramanik with their half-centuries rained on Madhya Pradesh's parade, Mayank Agarwal and Nikin Jose combined to keep Karnataka in the game, but only just.

Majumdar, Pramanik overshadows Saransh's six-for 

After Sudip Kumar Gharami and Majumdar whipped Madhya Pradesh with their 85-run partnership, a collapse ensued as Bengal wobbled at 165/5.

While Majumar's 80 ensured that his team recovered well, his dismissal was followed by a quick fall of wickets as Saransh Jain and Kumar Kartikeya forced Madhya Pradesh to the brink of an all-out.

However, the last-wicket undefeated 56-run stand between Pramanik and Ishan Porel laid the hosts dead in the water as Bengal stretched their lead to 547 runs, sitting at 279/9 at the end of fourth day's play.

Kaverappa dusts Karnataka; Agarwal and Jose fills in belief 

Courtesy of Vidhwath Kaverappa's five-wicket haul, Saurashtra were bowled out for 527 runs but not before Arpit Vasavada's double-century. 

Vasavada forged a 142-run partnership with Chirag Jani but as the latter fell after scoring a 149-ball 72, Saurashtra were packed away rapidly.

As Saurashtra took a 120-run lead, Karnataka's score being 123/4 at the end of the day means they only lead by three runs.

For Karnataka, Agarwal and Jose scored 55 and 54* runs respectively, holding their finale dream by a thread.