• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Madhya Pradesh Bengal And Karnataka Qualify For Ranji Trophy 2022 23 Semis

Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Karnataka qualify for semis, Saurashtra and Punjab head for nail-biting finish 

image-ldofy7kpMadhya Pradesh progressed to the semifinal [Source: Twitter]

As many as three sides confirmed their spots in the semi-finals of the Ranji Trophy 2022-23 after notching up comfortable wins in the quarter-finals leg. Let's take a look at the summary of how these matches fared on Day 4. 

MP thumped Andhra 

With ten wickets in hand, MP started Day 4 on the wrong foot, losing Himanshu Mantri for 31. Yash Dubey and Shubham Sharma added 62 runs for the second wicket. Dubey scored his fourth half-century of the season before departing off Lalith Mohan.

Sharma departed shortly after for 40. However, Rajat Patidar scored a quick-fire 55, taking his side across 200. 

Andhra picked up Patidar and skipper Aditya Shrivastava's wickets in a span of an over, with the defending champions still needing 32 runs to win.

But Harsh Gawli (18) and Saransh Jain (28) knocked off the remaining runs without fuss, helping their side to a hard-fought five-wicket win. 

Bengal edged past Jharkhand

Bengal ensured Jharkhand could not build on their seven-run lead on Day 4. 

Supriyo Chakraborty stood his ground and added 36 runs to his overnight score, helping Jharkhand past the 200-run mark. 

Needing 67 to win, Bengal lost opener Kazi Saifi early on. However, Abhimanyu Easwaran (28) and Sudip Kumar Gharami (26) saw Bengal to safety, taking their side past the finish line in 12.4 overs, earning a nine-wicket win.

Semi-Finals 1 - MP vs Bengal

Karnataka rout Uttarakhand

Karnataka started Day 4, needing seven wickets to qualify for the next round. At the same time, Uttarakhand batters Dikshanshu Negi and Swapnil Singh came out to bat with their team requiring 384 runs to avoid an innings defeat. 

The duo added 64 runs before M Venkatesh provided a much-needed breakthrough, getting Negi for 29.

Singh, too, departed soon after completing his fifty. Vijaykumar Vyshak, who claimed Singh's scalp, added two more wickets to his kitty — Aditya Tare (28) and Abhay Negi (15).

Shreyas Gopal wrapped up the tail swiftly to pick up a three-for, helping Karnataka win the match by an inning and 281 runs.

Saurashtra need 8 wickets, Punjab need 200 runs

Saurashtra began Day 4 with a 7-run lead and two set batters taking guard in the middle. 

Arpit Vasavada and Chirag Jani notched their respective fifties, taking their team past the 200. Vinay Chaudhary continued his excellent form, picking up the Saurashtra skipper.

He claimed his fifth wicket in the form of Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, who scored 15. Jani, too, fell for 77. Prerak Mankad and Parth Bhut added 92 runs for the eighth wicket before the former perished against Mayank Markande. 

Choudhary picked up the remaining two Saurashtra wickets to pick a well-earned seven-wicket haul.

Chasing 252 to win, Punjab started carefully. They lost Naman Dhir for 11 before Prabhsimran Singh, and Pukhraj Mann consolidated. In the final over of the day, Punjab lost Prabhsimran on 26.

 At stumps on Day 4, Punjab were 52 for 2.

OC Exclusive: Carey faces 'Ashwin' in the nets, speaks on Australia's preparations