• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Jaydev Unadkat Rattles Karnataka As Saurashtra Enter The Vijay Hazare Finals

Vijay Hazare 2022 | Saurashtra thrash Karnataka to book a berth in the finals

image-lb3i927tJaydev broke Karnataka's back picking up four wickets for his side (Source: Twitter)

Karnataka got off to a disastrous start. The bowling duo of Jaydev Unadkat and Kushang Patel kept the Karnataka batters on the backfoot. Mayank Agarwal and Ravikumar Samarth opened the innings for Karnataka. Agarwal looked rusty throughout his innings and paid price for it.

Man in form Ravikumar Samarth held the one end pretty well and he was accompanied by Nikin Jose in the middle. They stitched a partnership of 28 runs for the 3rd wicket.

Prerak Mankad scalped the two wickets in the 19th over and broke the backbone of Karnataka's batting. 

Ravikumar Samarth played an exceptional knock under the pressure. The wickets were tumbling down from the other end but he batted beautifully at one end. He scored 88 runs in 135 balls to help his put up 171 runs on the board in 49.1 overs.

Jay Gohil steadies the chase for Saurashtra

Chasing the total, Saurashtra had a nightmarish start to their chase of the moderate target of 173 runs. Harvik Desai and Sheldon Jackson were sent back to the hut by the third over of the innings for silver ducks. 

At this stage, Samarth Vyas and Jay Gohil came together with the score reading 0 for 2. From there they progressed slowly and steadily and ensured there were no further immediate slips. They stabilised the innings and got Saurashtra out of trouble. They stitched a 75 runs partnership before, Krishnappa Gowtham bowled Samarth Vyas (33 off 55) off a great delivery. 

The fourth wicket in the form of Mankad (35 off 32) fell when Saurashtra needed 44 runs off 137 balls. The wicket came a bit too late for Karnataka, they also dismissed Gohil (61 off 82) but that could not prevent their defeat. Saurashtra won the match by five wickets with 82 balls left in their innings.

Brief Scores

Karnataka: 171/10 (49.1)
R Samarth 88(135), Manoj Bhandag 22(27)
Jaydev Unadkat 4/26 (10), Prerak Mankad 2/34 (8)

Saurashtra: 172/5  (36.2)
Jay Gohil 61(82), Prerak Mankad 35(32)
Krishnappa Gowtham 2/50 (9.2), Vidhwath Kaverappa 1/20 (6)

Saurashtra won by 5 wickets

Also Read: Marnus Labuschagne's ton puts Australia in the driving seat