• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Healys Blitzkrieg Follows Deepti Ecclestones Masterclass As Rcb Remain Winless

Healy's Blitzkrieg Follows Deepti, Ecclestone's Masterclass As RCB Remain Winless 

image-lf2sdkhzAlyssa Healy scored 96* runs (Source: Twitter/@wplt20)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) plunged to a bottomless pit. Smriti Mandhana and Co. have now lost against every other team in the Women's Premier League (WPL) as UP Warriorz became the latest cause of their agony, defeating the former in the eighth match of the season by 10 wickets.

Sharma, Ecclestone lays RCB down waste 

After opting to bat first, Royal Challengers Bangalore were again let down by their skipper Mandhana, whose rut continued. She had to depart after scoring four runs as Rajeshwari Gayakwad led to her undoing.

Sophie Devine and Ellyse Perry went along their business nicely but only till Sophie Ecclestone was warming herself up. The left-arm spinner first removed Devine and Deepti Sharma inflicted the further damage as RCB took a dive down to the ground.

Amidst the chaos, Ellyse Perry stood tall, scoring a half-century, but the moment Deepti dismissed her, everyone could foretell RCB's fate.

Ecclestone took a four-for, while Deepti grabbed three wickets as Bangalore folded for 138 runs.

Healy's 96 storm away RCB

Alyssa Healy made quick work of the given target as her 96-run knock helped the Warriorz do away with the run-chase in only the 13th over of the second innings.

The Challengers could not challenge UP even one bit, failing to take even a single wicket that could have been nothing more than a consolation for them.

While Healy with her unbeaten 96 was the star of the show, UP Warrior tried a new opener in Devika Vaidya, who also looked comfortable in her 31-ball 36.

Brief scores

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 138/10 (19.3)

Ellyse Perry 52 (39), Sophie Devine 36 (24);
Sophie Ecclestone 4-13 (3.3), Deepti Sharma 3-26 (4)

UP Warriorz: 139/0 (13)

Alyssa Healy 96* (47), Devika Vaidya 36* (31);
Heather Knight 0-9 (1), Sahana Pawar 0-11 (1)

UP Warriorz won by 10 wickets