• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Bangladesh Premier League 2023 January 20Th Round Up
Shivani Shukla ∙ Jan 20 2023, 10:25 PM | 3 Min Read

Bangladesh Premier League 2023, January 20th Round-Up

image-ld4r21kcWahab Riaz (PC: Twitter)

A total of four teams crossed swords against each other in two cracking T20 contests on Friday, January 20 in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). Let’s take a quick review of the action that transpired between the four teams: 

Match 19: Chattogram Challengers vs Khulna Tigers 

Result: Khulna Tigers won by 7 wickets. 

Chattogram Challengers, after putting to bat first, posted 157 runs on the board for the loss of nine wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Usman Khan, Afif Hossain, Darwish Rasooli, and Farhad Reza were the chief contributors with the bat for the Challengers. Wahab Riaz was the pick of the bowlers for Khulna Tigers, having bagged a four-wicket haul. 

Khulna Tigers, in reply rode on Mahmudul Hasan Joy's half-century knock to chase down the target in 19.2 overs. Tamim Iqbal and Yasir Ali also played a belligerent knocks of 44 runs and 36 runs respectively. For Chattogram, Nihaduzzaman and Shuvagata were among wickets. 

Brief Score:

Chattogram Challengers: 157/9 (20 Overs)

Usman Khan 45 (31), Afif Hossain 35 (31); Wahab Riaz 4/36 (4),
Mohammad Saifuddin 2/40 (4)

Khulna Tigers: 159/3 (19.2 Overs)

Mahmudul Hasan Joy 59 (44), Tamim Iqbal 44 (37);
Nihaduzzaman 2/32 (3.2), Shuvagata Hom 1/17 (3) 

Match 20: Fortune Barishal vs Dhaka Dominators 

Result: Fortune Barishal won by 13 runs.

After being asked to bat first, Fortune Barishal posted a mammoth total of 173 runs on the board for the loss of five wickets. Shakib Al Hasan played a flamboyant knock of 30 runs off just 17 balls while Iftikhar Ahmed and Mahmudullah Riyad smacked unbeaten 56 and 35 to help their side post a humongous total on board.

Dhaka Dominators, in reply could manage only 160 runs in the allocated 20 overs despite Nasir Hossain's half-century knock. Mohammad Mithun and Usman Ghani also chipped in with valuable contribution but it wasn't enough at the end. For Fortune Barishal, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Chaturanga de Silva, and Karim Jannat picked one wicket each.

Brief Score:

Fortune Barishal: 173/5 (20 Overs)

Iftikhar Ahmed 56 (34)*, Mahmudullah Riyad 34 (31)*;
Nasir Hossain 2/16 (2), Arafat Sunny 1/17 (3) 

Dhaka Dominators: 160/4 (20 Overs)

Nasir Hossain 54 (36)*, Mohammad Mithun 47 (38);
Chaturanga de Silva 1/22 (4), Karim Jannat 1/26 (4) 

Read More: ICC's bid for the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics rejected