• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Abu Dhabi T10 2022 Nicholas Pooran Stars In Final As Deccan Gladiators Defends T10 Title

Nicholas Pooran stars in final as Deccan Gladiators defends T10 title

image-lb9nf6o2Mohammad Hasnain celebrates a wicket in final (Source: Twitter)

Deccan Gladiators gets crowned as Abu Dhabi T10 champions for the second year in succession. Despite barely making it to the playoffs this time around, the Nicholas Pooran-led side sprung up performances of the tournament and romped to victory by defeating table-toppers New York Strikers in the final.

Pooran’s Gladiators trumps Strikers to claim 2022 Abu Dhabi T10 glory

Defending champions Deccan Gladiators defeated debutants New York Strikers in the final to win their second successive Abu Dhabi T10 title. Notably, the latter had defeated the Gladiators when the two sides clashed in the league stage of the tournament.

Gladiators skipper Nicholas Pooran struck a 23-ball 40 while David Wiese clubbed an unbeaten 43 as the duo did the bulk of the scoring in their team’s 128-4.

In response, the Strikers lost each of their top three batters within two overs of the run-chase, with Muhammad Waseem and Eoin Morgan falling for ducks. Jordan Thompson and captain Kieron Pollard launched some retaliation in the middle, albeit to no avail, as they conceded the final to Gladiators by falling 37 runs short of their target.

The Gladiators have now joined the Northern Warriors in terms of most Abu Dhabi T10 title wins in tournament’s history.

Brief scores:

Deccan Gladiators: 128-4 (10)

David Wiese 43* (18), Nicholas Pooran 40 (23)

Akeal Hosein 2-16, Kieron Pollard 1-16

New York Strikers: 91-5 (10)

Kieron Pollard 23 (15), Jordan Thompson 22* (17)

Josh Little 2-4, Mohammad Hasnain 2-14

Deccan Gladiators won by 37 runs

ALSO READ | Matt Renshaw ready to make a comeback in Australian Test team