• Home
  • Latest
  • Full List Of Cricket Australia Contracted Players Warner Included

Full List of Cricket Australia Contracted Players; Warner Included

image-lg4skmssDavid Warner included in Cricket Australia contract list [Twitter]

Cricket Australia (CA) have announced its new list of men's centrally contracted players for the upcoming 2023-24 season, which consists of 24 players. The MOU signed between CA and the Australian Cricketers' Association (ACA) states that 20 to 24 players are eligible for contracts.

As is the case every year, there are few surprise inclusions and few exclusions on the list. Opener David Warner continues to find a place on the list despite undergoing a rough patch. Marcus Harris makes a return, while Matt Renshaw and Peter Handscomb, who made their international return last year have been dropped.

Spinner Todd Murphy, who impressed everyone in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2023 finds a place alongside Nathan Lyon, Ashton Agar, and Adam Zampa.

Pace bowling duo Lance Morris and Jhye Richardson also found themselves on the list, which already consists of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Sean Abbott, Michael Nesser, and Scott Boland.

Men's Chairman of Selectors George Bailey said the contracts were handed out based on what lies ahead for Australia.

Here's what Bailey said

"Two huge challenges in the Test arena in The World Test Championship and the Ashes are on our doorstep followed soon after by the ICC One-Day World Cup.

We have chosen a group of players we expect will form the majority of those two campaigns and we know that we will need a squad mentality to achieve success."

Players who did not find a place on the initial list can earn upgrades all across the year by accumulating 12 upgrade points.

A player earns five points for one Test, two for an ODI, and two for a T20I. 

Australia men's centrally contract list: 

Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Michael Neser, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, and Adam Zampa