• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Zim Vs Ban 2Nd Odi Double Century Stand Between Raza And Chakabva Sealed The Series For Zimbabwe
Arnav Chopra ∙ Aug 8 2022, 12:33 AM | 2 Min Read

ZIM vs BAN, 2nd ODI: Double-century stand between Raza and Chakabva sealed the series for Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe claimed the three-match ODI series against Bangladesh, courtesy of a 201 partnership between Sikandar Raza and Regis Chakabva.

image-l6jo1u3rZimbabwe won the match by 5 wickets.

Asked to bat, Tamim Iqbal's crucial knock of 50 off 45 deliveries gave Bangladesh a good start, after which they lost the opening wicket for 71, and later, Anamul Haque's wicket left the Tigers at 77/2. 

Another good partnership between Najmul Hossain and Mushfiqur Rahim gave them momentum before Wesley Madhevere cracked a hole in the batting line-up.

The innings was steadied by Mahmudullah, who scored 80, along with Afif Hossain (41), who stitched 81-runs for the 5th wicket together to help Bangladesh reach 290. Raza was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets.

Zimbabwe's determination helps their cause

Losing 49 for 4 in pursuit of 291, Zimbabwe were rocked by twin strikes from Hasan Mahmud, who claimed Takudzwanashe Kaitano and Innocent Kaia for 0 and 7, respectively.

Raza and Chakabva went about their business, building a solid partnership of 201 runs. Raza scored his second ton in a row with 117 off 127 with four sixes and eight fours. Skipper Chakabva scored 102 off just 75 deliveries hitting two sixes and ten fours, giving his side a much-needed effort before getting out in the 44th over, with Zimbabwe still requiring 41 for the win.

Raza was joined by Tony Munyonga (30), who comfortably took their side home in the 48th over.

Brief Scores: 

Bangladesh: 290/9 (50)

Mahmudullah 80 (84), Tamim Iqbal 50 (45);
Raza 3/56 (10), Madhevere 2/40 (9)

Zimbabwe: 291/5 (47.3)

Sikandar Raza 117* (127), Regis Chakabva 102 (75);
Hasan Mahmud 2/47 (9), Mehidy Hasan Miraz 2/50 (10)

Match Result: Zimbabwe won by 5 wickets.

ALSO READ: The Hundred 2022: Pretorius, Parnell, Brewer named as replacements