• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Tnpl 2022 Itt Vs Ss Skilful Bowling Helps Tiruppur Tamizhans Beat Salem Spartans By 32 Runs

TNPL 2022 | ITT vs SS | Skilful bowling helps Tiruppur Tamizhans beat Salem Spartans by 32 runs

A disciplined bowling performance from the IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans' bowling unit helped them return to winning ways as they mauled the struggling Salem Spartans in a low-scoring affair on Wednesday, July 13 at Coimbatore.  

Chasing a low total of 135 runs, the Salem Spartans once again faltered in the run chase as the team never got going and kept losing wickets at regular intervals, which meant they ended up falling short of the target by 32 runs. 

Rajendran Karthikeyan, with 36 off 25 balls, was their highest run-getter as the Murugan Ashwin-led side couldn't stand before the disciplined bowling attack of Tiruppur Tamizhans and were eventually bundled out for 103 runs in 19.2 overs.

Except for Karthikeyan, only wicket-keeper R Kavin (16-ball 14) and S Ganesh (23-ball 19) could manage to score in double digits as the batting woes of Salem Spartans continued in the tournament.

It was a fiery spell of the ITT spin giant Mohan Prasath that the Spartans inning could never take off post their openers' dismissal. Prasath returned with the brilliant figures of 4/11. M Mohammed and S Aravind were equally impactful with the ball as the duo bagged two wickets each. 

In the first half, ITT skipper Srikkanth Anirudha (22-ball 32) and S Aravind (30-ball 25) played some elegant strokes to provide a solid start to the IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans. 

The duo put up a 57-run stand for the opening wicket before Sunder Ferrario trapped Anirudha at third man. S Aravind followed him in the next over as R Karthikeyan bowled a beauty to clean him up, leaving ITT reeling at 62/2 in 9 overs. 

Furthermore, the 4th wicket partnership between Maan K Bafna and P Francis Rokins provided Tiruppur Tamizhans with a respectable score to defend as they put up 135/5 at the end of 20 overs. 

While Rokins played a slow and steady knock of 20-ball 17, Maan K Bafna scored 29 runs off as many balls and remained unbeaten. 

For Salem Spartans, Daryl Sunder Ferrario was the pick of the bowlers, having bagged two wickets while conceding just 21 runs in his quota of 4 overs. 

IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans, registering their second win in the season, have now moved up to claim the fifth spot in the TNPL points table. 

On the other hand, Salem Spartans suffered their fourth straight defeat in the ongoing tournament. Winless so far, the Murugan Ashwin-led side are currently languishing at the bottom of the standings.

Brief Score: 

IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans: 135/5 (20 Overs)

Srikkanth Anirudha 32 (22), Maan Bafna 29 (29); 

Daryl Sunder Ferrario 2-21 (4), G Periyaswamy 1/28 (4)

Salem Spartans: 103/10 (19.2 Overs) 

R Karthikeyan 36 (25), S Ganesh 19 (23); 

Mohan Prasath 3-11 (4), S Aravind 2-12 (4)

IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans won by 32 runs.