Tillakaratne Dilshan Storm Blows Away Australia Legends

image-l7xocb7l Tillakaratne Dilshan | Source: Twitter

Nuwan Kulasekara bagged a four-for as Sri Lanka Legends swatted aside Australia Legends by 38 runs in the third match of the Road Safety World Series (RSWS) 2022 at the Green Park, Kanpur on Sunday.

Belligerent knocks by Tillakaratne Dilshan and Dilshan Munaweera helped Sri Lanka Legends post a mammoth 218/1 after opting to bat first. In reply, Australia Legends were bowled-out for 180 runs in 18 overs.

The Australia Legends started their chase of the mammoth target on a positive note with opener Shane Watson (39) and Cameron White (30) cobbling up a 75-run partnership for the first wicket.

However, their wickets in successive overs dented their start as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and eventually bundled out for 180 runs in 18 overs. Nathan Reardon (46* off 19) did show some fightback at the backend but he got absolutely no support from the other edge.  

The right-arm quick Nuwan Kulasekara was the chief annihilator with the ball as he bagged four wickets while conceding 36 runs in his four overs quota. Apart from Kulasekara, Chaturanga de Silva and Jeevan Mendis also grabbed two wickets each. 

Tillakaratne Dilshan turned back the clock 

Earlier, Sri Lanka Legends captain and batting veteran Tillakaratne Dilshan rolled back the years and played a whirlwind knock of 107 runs off just 56 balls at the top of the order to guide his team to the mammoth total of 218 runs at the end of the first inning.

Captain Tillakaratne Dilshan was ably supported by opening batter Dilshan Munaweera, who also turned back the clock and scored a staggering 95 off just 63 deliveries. The 33-year-old remained unbeaten as Sri Lanka finished off with 218 for two after 20 overs. 

For Australia Legends, only Brett Lee could manage to pick a wicket as the rest of the bowlers were taken to the cleaners and remained wicketless. 

Brief Score:

Sri Lanka Legends: 218/1 (20 Overs)

Tillakaratne Dilshan 107 (56), Dilshan Munaweera 97 (63)*;
Brett Lee 1-45 (4)

Australia Legends: 180/10 (18 Overs) 

Nathan Reardon 46 (19)*, Shane Watson 39 (23);
Nuwan Kulasekara 4-36 (4), Jeevan Mendis 2-14 (2) 

Sri Lanka Legends won by 38 runs. 

ALSO READ: Sri Lanka decimate Pakistan by 23 runs to clinch the Asia Cup 2022 trophy