Ranji Trophy 2021-22 | Match-Day 2 - Daily Roundup

The second day of the ongoing season of Ranji Trophy proved to be yet another fascinating affair with players across the length and breadth of the country whetting the appetite with brilliant performances.

Here's a look at memorable events from day 02 of Ranji Trophy 2021/22:

Maharashtra's Pavan Shah smashed a double hundred on Ranji debut

Debutant opener Pavan Shah scripted history on the second day of the ongoing encounter against Assam as he smashed a pristine double ton.

The 22-year-old right-handed batsman hammered a 401-ball 219 to help Maharashtra accumulate 415 in their first innings. He is the 11th batsman to smash a ton on Ranji debut. He has also joined the likes of Amol Muzumdar, Ajay Rohera, Gundappa Vishwanath, Arslan Khan etc as cricketers to smash a double-ton on Ranji debut.

In response, Assam lost two wickets, finishing the day at 81/2.

Brief Scores: 

Assam 2/81 (Subham Mandal 34*; Manoj Ingale ⅕) trail Maharashtra 451 in 143.3 overs (Pavan Shah 219, SS Bachav 52; Mukhtar Hussain 5/82) by 334 runs. 


Sarfaraz Khan smashes 275 as Mumbai bury Saurashtra under a mountain of runs

Sarfaraz Khan continued his dream run in Ranji Trophy on day 02 of the ongoing game against Saurashtra as he hammered yet another double-hundred.

Khan lost his overnight partner and fellow centurion Ajinkya Rahane early on day 02 but that did not prevent him from continuing in his merry way.

He brought up his double hundred and along with Aditya Tare and Tanush Kotlian, who smashed an unbeaten 50, the right-hander took Mumbai's total close to the 600-run mark before eventually falling to Prerak Mankad in the closing stages of the day.

Brief Scores: 

Mumbai 7-544 in 157 overs (Sarfaraz Khan 275, Ajinkya Rahane 129; Chirag Jani 2/83)

Lukman Meriwala and Atit Seth route Bengal for 88


After having been dismissed for a poultry 181 on the opening day, Baroda needed a big effort from their bowlers to stage a comeback.


And, that is exactly what the pace duo of Lukman Meriwala (3/15) and Atit Seth (5/44) did. The duo claimed nine wickets between on the second morning to bowl Bengal out for a mere 88.


In response, they racked up 5/144 in the second innings, with the overall lead swelling to 237 runs.

Brief Scores: 

Baroda 181 all-out in 54.2 overs (Mithesh Patel 66; Ishan Porel 4/40, Mukesh Kumar 3/33) & 5-144 in 52 overs (Kedar Devdhar 41, Pratyush Kumar 39*; Ishan Porel 2/50) lead Bengal 88 in 34.3 overs (Abisek Porel 21;  Atit Seth 5/44, Lukman Meriwala 3/15) by 237 runs



Faiz Fazal's 100 puts Vidarbha in pole position against Uttar Pradesh


An unbeaten 142* by skipper Faiz Fazal and a 96 from his opening partner, Sanjay Ragunath has put former champs Vidharba in a commanding position against UP on day 02.


Having dismissed UP for 312 earlier in the day, the duo of Faiz Fazal and Ragunath hammered the Uttar Pradesh bowling attack to all corners as they racked up a 213-run-stand in just over 60 overs.


The stand was finally broken by Ankit Rajpoot, who trapped Ragunath plumb in front. Atharva Taide followed suit but Fazal ensured he lived to fight another day as Vidarbha went to Stumps at 2/256 in 79 overs.


Brief Scores:

 UP 301 in 96.5 overs (Akshdeep Nath 91, Rinku Singh 65, Dhruv Jurel 64; Aditya Sarwate (5/86), Aditya Thakare (2/43), Umesh Yadav 2/58) lead Vidarbha 2/256 in 79 overs (Faiz Fazal 142*, Sanjay Ragunath 96; Ankit Rajpoot 1/50) by 45 runs


Arzan Nagwaswalla claims a 5-for as Gujarat & MP fight for 1st innings lead.


Left-arm pacer Arzan Nagwaswalla completed a five-wicket haul on the second morning to help Gujarat bowl Madhya Pradesh for 274.


In response, Gujarat lost a couple of wickets cheaply before half-centuries from skipper Priyank Panchal (52), Manprit Juneja (53), Het Patel (72) lifted the team to 6/244 at the close of play.


Ishwar Pandey and Gaurav Yadav were the pick of the bowlers for MP, claiming five wickets between them.


Brief Scores: 

MP 274 in 96.3 overs (Shubham Shyamsunder Sharma 92, Rajat Patidar 54; Arzan Nagwaswalla 5/59, Roosh Kalaria 2/52) lead Gujarat 6-244 in 72 overs (Het Patel 72, Manprit Juneja 53; Ishwar Pandey 3/50, Gaurav Yadav 2/59) by 30 runs


Prabhsimran tons up to put Punjab in total command against Himachal Pradesh


A whirlwind 138-ball 123 by Prabhsimran Singh and an equally swashbuckling knock from Abhishek Sharma (98 off 101 deliveries) has put Punjab in a commanding position against Himachal.


Having dismissed HP for 354 thanks to a five-wicket haul from Baltej Singh, Punjab's opening duo took the game by the scruff of its neck as they smashed 182 runs in just 33.3 overs.


Sharma fell two runs short of a well-deserved ton after he was caught and bowled by Raghav Dhawan. However, there was no respite for HP's bowlers as the incoming batsmen picked off from where Sharma had left, ensuring that Punjab finished the day with a first innings lead of 39.


Brief Scores:

 HP 354 in 96 overs (Ankit Kalsi 88, Akash Vasisht 87; Baltej Singh 5/61) trail Punjab 4/393 in 82 overs (Prabhsimran Singh 123, Abhishek Sharma 98; Prashant Chopra 1/56) by 39 runs


Lalit Yadav 177 puts Delhi in the driver's seat against Tamil Nadu


Off-spin all-rounder Lalit Yadav backed up Yash Dhull"s superlative efforts on the opening day with a brilliant 177 off 287 deliveries to help Delhi post 452.


Yadav added 92 runs for the 9th wicket with V Mishra before accumulating 59 runs for the last wicket. The right-handed batsman smashed 17 fours and as many as 10 sixes during his knock.


In response,  Tamil Nadu lost two crucial wickets in the form of L Suryaprakash (23) and Baba Aparajith (0)  to finish the day at 2/75.


Brief Scores:

 Delhi 452 in 141.2 overs (Lalit Yadav 177, Yash Dhull 113; M Mohammed 4/75) lead Tamil Nadu 2/75 in 30 overs (Kaushik Gandhi 37*; Kuldip Yadav 1/21) by 377 runs

Discover more
Top Stories

BPL Final | Fortune Barishal pull game back under control

Team of the tournament Fortune Barishal pulled the final game of the Bangladesh Premier League back under their control after getting smashed around in the first six overs by Comilla Victorians. The Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka saw an emphatic comeback from the Shakib Al Hasan-led team after they were smashed all around the park by Sunil Narine. Down by 73/2 after the first 5 overs, Barishal struck back with Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Faf du Plessis and Imrul Kayes in a space of four overs. This effectively wiped off Comilla’s middle order and forced them into retreat despite a tremendous opening few overs. Abu Hider and Moeen Ali stabilised the fall of wickets, by patiently ticking off bowlers without taking any sort of risks against the spirited spell of bowling. Both batsmen took the Comilla innings past the 15-over mark, which at a point did not look possible. They left it late to start counter hitting Barishal back and the opportunity presented itself in the 18th over of the game. Mehedi Hasan in his final over was hit for two sixes, leaking out 15 runs in the death overs. Comilla would have loved for it to continue, but the very next over from Dwayne Bravo once again put a lid on the runrate. However, Comilla knew that inexperienced Shafiqul Islam would be bowling the last over and they could get at least 15 from that one. But alas, it was not to be. A run out in the first ball and two wickets off short balls did the trick for Barishal and they managed to keep Barishal restricted to just 151 runs.