BPL Final | Fortune Barishal pull game back under control

Team of the tournament Fortune Barishal pulled the final game of the Bangladesh Premier League back under their control after getting smashed around in the first six overs by Comilla Victorians. 

The Sher-e-Bangla stadium in Dhaka saw an emphatic comeback from the Shakib Al Hasan-led team after they were smashed all around the park by Sunil Narine. Down by 73/2 after the first 5 overs, Barishal struck back with Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Faf du Plessis and Imrul Kayes in a space of four overs. This effectively wiped off Comilla’s middle order and forced them into retreat despite a tremendous opening few overs.

Abu Hider and Moeen Ali stabilised the fall of wickets, by patiently ticking off bowlers without taking any sort of risks against the spirited spell of bowling.

Both batsmen took the Comilla innings past the 15-over mark, which at a point did not look possible. They left it late to start counter hitting Barishal back and the opportunity presented itself in the 18th over of the game.

Mehedi Hasan in his final over was hit for two sixes, leaking out 15 runs in the death overs. Comilla would have loved for it to continue, but the very next over from Dwayne Bravo once again put a lid on the runrate.

However, Comilla knew that inexperienced Shafiqul Islam would be bowling the last over and they could get at least 15 from that one. But alas, it was not to be.

A run out in the first ball and two wickets off short balls did the trick for Barishal and they managed to keep Barishal restricted to just 151 runs.

Discover more
Top Stories

NZW vs INDW | Lauren Down steps up as hosts seal ODI series with two games to spare

India scored their highest ODI total in New Zealand during the third game but faced yet another defeat as Lauren Down's quickfire 52-ball 64* allowed them to recover from a middle-overs struggle and record their second-highest successful chase in ODI history. New Zealand, on the other hand, also clinched the five-match ODI series with two games in hand. Team India looked controlled when New Zealand was at 171 for 6 in the 35th over. However, Down had some other plans when she came to bat. Along with the keeper-batter Katey Martin, she stitched 76 runs off just 69 balls to keep the hosts in the game as well. Martin (35) fell to India spinner Deepti Sharma with a little more than four overs to spare and the equation came down to 18 from 12. But 12 runs conceded in the penultimate over from Jhulan Goswami somehow sealed the game for New Zealand before Down hit Deepti for a straight six to finish off the chase. On the other hand, it was the veteran Goswami who had initially provided India with the breakthroughs. She dismissed Sophie Devine and Suzie Bates in her opening spell where the former was trapped LBW and the latter got bowled as well. Meanwhile, Goswami should have removed Amy Satterthwaite out for a duck but Deepti failed to grab a catch at gully. Later, Satterthwaite and Amelia Kerr steadied the ship by adding 103 runs. Them, Mithali Raj was forced to bring back her spearhead bowler Goswami into the attack, a move that paid off when she dismissed Satterthwaite for 59. From there on, Sneh Rana removed Kerr for 69 before Lea Tahuhu hit a couple of big shots. But, she too couldn’t contribute much and it left the hosts struggling before Down, took the charge. She and Martin started taking on the spin trio of Deepti, Sneh Rana and Ekta Bisht before taking the team to the finish line. Earlier in the game, having been put in to bat, the opening pair of Sabbhineni Meghana and Shafali Varma posted 86 from the first 10 overs, the former smashing a 33-ball half-century. Meghana came in place for Smriti Mandhana, fell for 61 with a total score of 100. Shafali later added a few runs with Yastika Bhatia but failed to contribute much after a 50 as well. India's middle-order once again struggled with the new batters – Mithali Raj and Harmanpreet Kaur and the visitors lost the momentum eventually. Soon, Kaur got run-out before Mithali edged a swinger from Hannah Rowe and India slipped to 187 for 5. Deepti, however, tried her best to keep the scoreboard ticking with a knock of 69* and helped to put up a total of 279 as well which proved less as they eventually lost the game. Brief scores: India 279 in 49.3 overs (Deepti 69*, S Meghana 61; Mair 2-43) lost to New Zealand 280/7 in 49.1 overs (Kerr 67, Down 64*, Goswami 3-47) by three wickets.


BPL Final | Sunil Narine half century gives Comilla a tremendous start

Comilla Victorians got off to a flying start against Fortune Barishal in the final of the Bangladesh Premier League on Friday, 18 February at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Dhaka. Choosing to bat first in what looked like a flat track, Comilla were able to put the pedal to the metal quickly after Sunil Narine started in his classical style - throwing his bat at everything that was bowled to him. The first two overs went for 36 runs, with Afghan Mujeeb Ur Rahman going for 18 in his first over and young pacer Shafiqul Islam belted for the same amount of runs by the West Indian batter. Narine looked in ominous touch, timing the ball exceptionally well till the third over bowled by Shakib Al Hasan, which put screws on the runflow. Giving just four runs away in the third, Shakib also managed to dismiss Liton Das who did not put much contribution in the partnership. The right handed Bangladesh opener scored just 4 runs off his six balls. It needs to be noted that Sunil Narine scored the fastest T20 century in Bangladesh in the last match of the tournament scoring his half century in just 13 balls. This game was no different from the last as Narine notched up another half century in the tournament completing his feat in just 21-balls. At the time of writing, Narine had just been dismissed in the second ball of the 6th over with Comilla being at 69/2. Faf du Plessis had just walked into the pitch to partner Mahmudul Hasan Joy