Shivani Shukla ∙ Aug 23 2022, 8:00 PM | 2 Min Read

Nihal Ullal's masterclass helps Mysore eliminate Hubli Tigers from tournament

image-l768p4wsNihal Ullal | Source: Twitter (Mysore Warriors)

Mysore produced a complete performance to decimate Hubli Tigers by five wickets in the Eliminator match of the ongoing Maharaja T20 Trophy 2022 at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on Tuesday, August 23.  

The Karun Nair-led outlet was at its lethal best as it outclassed Hubli Tigers in all three departments to knock them out of the competition. 

"Magnificent" Nihal Ullal propels Mysore to an easy win

Chasing a victory target of 168, Mysore openers Nihal Ullal and Karun Nair gave them a rollicking start by stringing up 52 runs in just 34 deliveries. 

While skipper Nair perished off after scoring a quick 14-ball 23, Nihal Ullal showed the nerves of steel and stood firm till last to ensure his team got over the line in the stipulated overs. 

Ullal played a magnificent knock of unbeaten 77 off 58, studded with six boundaries and three maximums. The likes of Pavan Deshpande (20-ball 24) and Shreyas Gopal (19-ball 32) also played breezy cameos for the Warriors in the middle. 

Hubli Tigers' topsy-turvy inning 

Asked to bat first, Hubli Tigers got off to a flyer with opener Luvnith Sisodia and Mohammed Taha cobbling up a 56-run stand for the first wicket. 

image-l769f6mcLuvnith Sisodia

Sisodia scored 33 from 24 balls with the help of four boundaries and a towering six whereas Taha cracked two sixes and as many fours to get 27 from 18 deliveries.

However, their dismissal in successive overs of Shreya Gopal jolted the innings of Hubli big time as the following batters couldn't stay longer in the middle and the team was soon slumped to 79/4 in 9.4 overs. 

Swapnil Yelave, who came to bat at five made an instant impact when things were not going right for his team and whacked 25-ball 30 to stabilize the inning. 

M Gneshwar Naveen (24-ball 32) and Abhimanyu Mithun (15-ball 19) also played impetuous knocks towards the end to revive the Mysore Warriors' position and get them to the fighting total of 164 for seven.

Brief Score:

Hubli Tigers: 164/7 (20 Overs) 

Gneshwar Naveen 32 (24), Luvnith Sisodia 33 (24); Shreyas Gopal 3-33 (4), Shubang Hegde 1-20 (4)

Mysore Warriors: 166/5 (19.1 Overs)

Nihal Ullal 77 (58)*, Shreyas Gopal 32 (19); Anand Doddamani 4-27 (4)

Mysore Warriors won by 5 wickets.

ALSO READ: Yuvraj Singh motivated me to score a century, Says Shubman Gill