• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Mayank Agarwal Ronit More Shine As Bengaluru Blasters Thrash Gulbarga Mystics By 7 Runs
Shivani Shukla ∙ Aug 8 2022, 9:03 PM | 2 Min Read

Mayank Agarwal, Ronit More Shine As Bengaluru Blasters Thrash Gulbarga Mystics By 7 Runs

image-l6kx2w7zMayank Agarwal played a fiery knock in the opener for Bangalore

In what was the first one-sided affair in the opening week of the Maharaja T20 Trophy, Bengaluru Blasters, on the back of their solid batting and clinical bowling performance, whacked aside Gulbarga Mystics by 54-runs to kick off their tournament campaign on a rousing note.

Sent into bat first, the Blasters scored 189 runs for the loss of eight wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. Skipper Mayank Agarwal top-scored with a 52 off just 25 balls and Aneesh KV tonked 44 from 40 deliveries after opener Chethan LR laid the foundation with a 16-ball 25.

Shivkumar Rakshit (12) and Kranthi Kumar's (22) late bliz towards the end further hurled Bengaluru Blasters to a big total of 189. 

Gulbarga Mystics, in pursuit of the victory target of 190 failed to pose any serious threat to the Mayank Agarwal-led side, having slumped to 36/3 in the powerplay.

KL Shrijith (25) and MS Bhandage (35) were the only two batters from the Mystics' camp who could manage to breach the 20-run mark with the willow.

Devdutt Padikkal also looked struggling with the bat, having scored 18 runs off 20 deliveries. Skipper Manish Pandey, meanwhile, was dismissed for just two as Gulbarga Mystics eventually folded up for 135 runs. 

Ronit More was the chief wrecker with the ball for Bengaluru Blasters, having scalped four wickets in 3.1 overs. Kumar KL and Rishi Bopana also got two wickets each. 

Brief Score:

Bengaluru Blasters: 189/8 (20 Overs) 

Mayank Agarwal 52 (25), Aneesh KV 44 (40);
Vidhwath Kaverappa 2-35 (4), Ritesh Bhatkal 2-18 (3) 

Gulbarga Mystics: 135 (19.1 Overs) 

K Shrijith 25 (22), MS Bhandage 35 (23);
Ronit More 4-22 (3.1), Rishi Bopanna 2-19 (4) 

Bengaluru Blasters won by 54 runs

Also Read: BCCI releases schedule for 2022-23 domestic season