Vishal Mehra ∙ Jan 11 2023, 1:45 PM | 2 Min Read

Laura Delany to lead as Ireland name squad for Women's T20 World Cup

image-lcrcje02Ireland Women's cricket team [Source: Twitter]

Cricket Ireland has named a young 15-member Irish Women's squad for the upcoming ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2023, to be held in South Africa. Ireland will be marshalled by veteran Laura Delany and coached by former England and Irish batter Ed Joyce. 

Irish Women are coming off a phenomenal 2022, having won eight T20Is in a single calendar year (joint-most). Delany's side won their first-ever T20I series in Pakistan in November.

Ireland, who are making their first appearance in the Women's T20 WC since 2018, are placed in Group B alongside England, Pakistan, India, and former champions West Indies. 

They will play their first match against Heather Knight-led England on February 13 in Paarl. The marquee event will start on February 10 and will go on until February 26. Chief selector Carrie Archer congratulated Team Ireland for their hard work.

Here's what national selector Carrie Archer said

"It was incredibly rewarding and encouraging to see our squad progress so far both on and off the field in 2022, recording a number of breakthrough results as a team and as individuals,

"While we came heartbreakingly close at the 2019 qualifier, we ultimately fell short, so this year’s qualification felt like redemption and reward for the hard work the players, coaches and support staff have put in."

Ireland squad for Women's T20 World Cup

Laura Delany (c), Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell, and Mary Waldron

Also Read: Women’s IPL will help Indian players see higher pressure situations: Mandhana