• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Latham To Lead Nz During Odi Series Against Sri Lanka In Williamsons Absence

Latham To Lead NZ During ODI series Against Sri Lanka In Williamson's Absence

image-lf74veh1NZ players during an ODI in India (Twitter)

Tom Latham is set to command the New Zealand squad for their upcoming home ODI series against Sri Lanka. The two teams are currently engaged in a two-match Test series, which will be followed by a set of three ODIs and three T20I matches.

NZC announces ODI squad for Sri Lanka series

Regular New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson is scheduled to fly to India for the upcoming Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL 2023) season, after the ongoing Test series against Sri Lanka at home.

In his absence, team vice-captain Tom Latham will be leading his side in their subsequent ODI series, set to be played between March 25 and March 31 across Auckland, Christchurch and Hamilton.

The New Zealand Cricket (NZC) announced a 16-player squad for the ODI matches on March 13, i.e., a few hours after New Zealand upstaged the visitors in a thrilling first Test match at the Hagley Oval.

Apart from Williamson (Gujarat Titans), fellow seniors Tim Southee and Devon Conway have also been excluded from the ODI squad, as the two cricketers are also set to honour their IPL commitments for the KKR and CSK respectively.

Meanwhile, Canterbury alumnus Chad Bowes has been included in the group, alongside Auckland star Ben Lister. Lister made his international debut for the ‘Black Caps’ back in February against India, and is tipped to make his ODI debut for the country in the upcoming series against Sri Lanka.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead expressed his excitement over the selection of new players in the squad. He praised Bowes’ batting pedigree for Canterbury and talked about the importance of Sri Lanka series. He said:

“It’s always exciting as a coach to have new players in the environment and to have players putting their hands up to be selected again in a particular format,"

“Chad has been impressive for a number of seasons at the top of the order for Canterbury as well as being an excellent fielder.”

Here is a look at the entire New Zealand squad for Sri Lanka ODIs:

Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner and Will Young.