• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Joe Root Returns To Odi Squad As England Announce 16 Member Side To Face Sri Lanka
Mayank Kumar ∙ Jun 19 2021, 6:16 PM | 2 Min Read

Joe Root returns to ODI squad as England announce 16-member side to face Sri Lanka

England have named a 16-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka scheduled to start on June 29. 

Test skipper Joe Root, who was rested for the last series against India has made a comeback in the squad.

Batsman Sam Billings, who injured his shoulder and was ruled out of the series against India has also made a comeback while the Curran brothers (Sam and Tom) have retained their place in the ODI squad as well.

The ODI squad against Sri Lanka will also see the return of David Willey for England in the ODI side for the first time in two years.

Jofra Archer who underwent an elbow surgery was not named in the squad while Ben Stokes, who has recovered from a fractured arm also missed out of a place.

In the bowling department, Mark Wood will spearhead the pace department in the company of Chris Woakes and Tom Curran while Sam Curran will fill Ben Stokes’ shoes as an all-rounder.

Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid have been retained as spinners in the squad to face Sri Lanka.

Jonny Bairstow who faced an injury scare in the Vitality Blast has retained his place and will open the batting alongside Jason Roy while the skipper Eoin Morgan and Jos Buttler will form the bulk of the middle order.

Discover more
Top Stories