• Home
  • Breaking News
  • India To Play Australia New Zealand Sri Lanka In Jampacked Schedule Before Ipl

India to play Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka in jampacked schedule before IPL

image-lbeqxt2nIndian Cricket Team is currently in Bangladesh

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has officially announced the home series against Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Australia in January-March 2023. In the period of three months - India will be playing 9 ODIs, 6 T20Is and 4 Test matches.

The Men in Blue will first be playing Sri Lanka in the first half of January, before facing New Zealand in the latter half of the month. In the next two months' time, the home team will be facing Australia - first for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy and then the caravan will shift back to the white-ball affair. 

The India board has invited the current Asian Champions for a three-match T20I and a three-match ODI series starting January 3, 2023. Interestingly, one of the six venues for this series is Trivandrum. 

Three days after the Sri Lanka series, the Rohit Sharma-led unit will play New Zealand in three T20 Internationals and the same number of One-Dayers in a fortnight.

The most exciting part of the schedule announced is the series against Australia, whose highlight would be the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which India has been retaining every time since 2016. However, Australians have been giving India a tough time in the ODI format recently. 

Meanwhile, the timing of these series is getting heavily criticised as Team India has been continuously on the road for the last six months. Post this jam-packed schedule; the Indian players will also be obliged to play in the Indian Premier League for their respective franchises. 

This extreme schedule could take a massive toll on players’ bodies; thus, BCCI will have to manage the workload.

India's schedule

New Zealand tour of India 2023:

1st ODI - Jan 18 (Hyderabad)

2nd ODI - Jan 21 (Raipur)

3rd ODI - Jan 24 (Indore)

1st T20 - Jan 27 (Ranchi)

2nd T20 - Jan 29 (Lucknow)

3rd T20 - Feb 1 (Ahmedabad)

Sri Lanka tour of India 2023:

1st T20 - Jan 3 (Mumbai)

2nd T20 - Jan 5 (Pune)

3rd T20 - Jan 7 (Rajkot)

1st ODI - Jan 10 (Guwahati)

2nd ODI - Jan 12 (Kolkata)

3rd ODI - Jan 15 (Kerala)

Australia tour of India 2023:

1st Test - Feb 9 to 13 (Nagpur)

2nd Test - Feb 17 to 21 (Delhi)

3rd Test - Mar 1 to 5 (Dharamsala)

4th Test - Mar 9 to 13 (Ahmedabad D/N)

1st ODI - Mar 17 (Mumbai)

2nd ODI - Mar 19 (Vizag)

3rd ODI - Mar 22 (Chennai)

Also Read | Had prioritised T20Is, now focus on ODIs: Rahul Dravid after series loss