Aakash Saini ∙ Dec 30 2022, 4:15 PM | 2 Min Read

Ben Stokes, Bairstow among frontrunners to win ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award

image-lcabpdl2Jonny Bairstow and Ben Stokes during Ashes 2022 [Source: Twitter]

England captain Ben Stokes has been nominated as a contender to win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award for his 2022 heroics. His teammate Jonny Bairstow also made a cut among the nominees, alongside Australia’s comeback man Usman Khawaja and Proteas’ speed demon Kagiso Rabada.

England Test stars rewarded for stellar 2022

Ben Stokes was appointed as England’s Test skipper earlier this year, taking over the role from teammate Joe Root. The dynamic all-rounder led his side to emphatic 3-0 series wins over New Zealand and Pakistan, thus forming nine wins for England in their 10 Tests since his appointment.

Apart from his charismatic leadership, the cricketer recorded 870 runs and also scalped 26 wickets.

Meanwhile, Jonny Bairstow rejuvenated his batting to new levels under his new captain. Given the freedom to play attackingly in Tests, the senior batter listed 1,061 runs throughout the year in 10 matches, and was the architect of several English run-chase spectacles against New Zealand and India.

Australian batsman Usman Khawaja made a comeback into the Test side through the 2022 Ashes at home. The veteran made immediate impact with twin tons as Australia claimed the series 4-0. He also starred in his side’s subsequent series win in Pakistan, and amounted to 1,080 runs across 11 Tests of the year.

Kagiso Rabada is the lone specialist pacer to be recognised by ICC for the prestigious Test award. The speedster helmed the South African pace attack throughout the year, snaring 47 wickets from nine matches. He registered two five-wicket hauls, including a match-winning one against a rampaging England at Lord’s.

ALSO READ | Can Ben Stokes be the answer to CSK's questions?