• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Csk Star Rachin Ravindra To Get New Zealand Cricket Central Contract

CSK Star Rachin Ravindra To Get New Zealand Cricket Central Contract

Rachin Ravindra gets NZ central contract (X.com)Rachin Ravindra gets NZ central contract (X.com)

New Zealand Cricket recently announced a 20-player contract list and after over a year of being overlooked star all rounder, Rachin Ravindra has finally been recognised and was recently offered his first New Zealand Cricket contract along with a few other notable names like Ajaz Patel along with Will O'Rourke and Otago's Jacob Duffy.

Rachin who has had a phenomenal year after being the emerging star of the ODI World Cup in India, where he scored 578 runs. 

He hasn't stopped since, as he slammed the highest maiden Test century by a New Zealand batter with his 240 at Mount Maunganui against South Africa. During this time, he was also picked by Indian Premier League's most prolific team, Chennai Super Kings for the 2024 season.

Upon receiving the contract, Rachin expressed his happiness and how it was a 'pinch-myself' moment for him. He said:

"Growing up you'd see those contract lists come out each year and think it would be cool to be on that list one day - and for it to eventuate now is a pinch-myself moment. It's been a really cool past 12 months playing international cricket. I've learned a lot and the hunger is definitely there to keep improving and giving to the Blackcaps.

"It's such a special group to be in, from players to support staff - and that's been the most enjoyable part, to be honest. Playing a game you love with your mates for a living is something very special, and I hold it close to my heart."

Rachin Ravindra Gets New Zealand's Central Contract

Furthermore, Kane Williamson and Lockie Ferguson intentionally excluded themselves from a central contract, Adam Milne also took the same decision. And since, Neil Wagner retired from international cricket in February he was left out from the list.

Players offered central contracts for 2024-25: Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Will O'Rourke, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young