• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Central Stags Vs Wellington Firebirds Match 21 Preview Predictions Fantasy Xi

Central Stags vs Wellington Firebirds | Match 21 Preview, Predictions, Fantasy XI

Central Stags take on Wellington Firebirds in the 21st match of this year's Super Smash tournament at Pukekura Park in New Plymouth. Both teams have twelve points and are in the middle of the table, but Wellington has a slight advantage due to their higher net run rate than the Stags. Wellington is third, and Stags are just below them.

The Stags and Firebirds will square off for the second time in the tournament. They previously met on December 5, 2021, at Basin Reserve, where the Stags were able to defend a total of 191 runs while winning by a margin of 14 runs. The highlight of the match was Josh Clarkson's 71(32)*.

In their previous matches, the Firebirds thrashed the scuffling Otago side by eight wickets (DLS) in a rain-interrupted affair while the Stags lost a match that they should have won. They couldn't defend 218 runs as they bowed down to Canterbury by five wickets. Even though they batted well their bowlers couldn’t turn up in that match.

Dane Cleaver and Greg Hay will miss out on this game. In the absence of Cleaver, Bayley Wiggins will handle the gloves. Brad Schmulian, a South African origin batter, and Mason Hughes have been added to the squad. Wellington will go with the unchanged squad. They will heavily depend on Fin Allen and Jimmy Neesham for major contributions.  Both the teams will fight hard and will keep an eye on the third place as it is the spot from where they can enter the play-offs.

Will the Firebirds maintain their third-place position, or will the Stags dethrone them? Is well worth a look.    

Match Details

Central Stags vs Wellington Firebirds- 21st Match

Date and Time: January 8, 2022, 6:10 AM IST

Venue: Pukekura Park, New Plymouth

Broadcast: Fan Code

Pitch Report

The Pukekura Park pitch is an absolute batting paradise. The bowlers will have a tough day ahead. The average first innings total is above 180s. Teams chasing have won a majority of the games here. A Toss-winning captain usually likes to chase here.

Weather Conditions

According to forecasts, there will be no rain, and will be sunny throughout the match.

Probable Playing XI

Central Stags

Ben Smith, Ma’ara Ave, Tom Bruce (c), Brad Schumlian, Josh Clarkson, Bayley Wiggins (wk), Doug Bracewell, Seth Rance, Blair Tickner, Joey Field, Ajaz Patel.

Wellington Firebirds

Fin Allen (wk), Tim Robinson, Michael Bracewell (c), Logan van Beek, Nathan Smith, Jimmy Neesham, Troy Johnson,  Peter Younghusband, Ben Sears, Ollie Newton, Hamish Bennett.

CE Fantasy XI

Josh Clarkson, Ajaz Patel, Doug Bracewell, Seth Rance, Bayley Wiggins, Michael Bracewell, Jimmy Neesham, Peter Younghusband, Tim Robinson

Captain- Fin Allen

 Vice-Captain- Tom Bruce

Discover more
Top Stories

PCB Awards 2021 | Mohammad Rizwan bags MVP of 2021, check out the full list here

The Pakistan Cricket Board announced its Annual Cricket Awards for the 2020-21 season and rewarded nine individuals as well as one spirit of cricket moment to make it a perfect 10. The most important award of the night- Most Valuable Cricketer of the Year was bagged by Test Vice-Captain and wicket-keeper batter Mohammad Rizwan whose achievements overshadowed those of any other compatriot of his. He scored 455 runs in nine Tests, 134 runs in six ODIs and 1326 runs in 29 T20Is. Added to that was his 56 dismissals as wicketkeeper behind the stumps across all formats. The award for Impactful Performance of the Year was given to fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi for his match-winning performance of 3-31 against arch-rivals India in the T20 World Cup 2021. It was courtesy of this performance and later on a brilliant chase by Babar and Rizwan that Pakistan broke the hoodoo of not beating India in World Cups ever since the emergence of the tournament. The award for the Emerging Cricketer of the Year went to PSL side Islamabad United’s fast bowler Mohammad Wasim Jr who also made his international debut in the year 2021. In total, the 20-year old took 38 wickets in the calendar year throughout all competitions including domestic and international. The ODI Cricketer of the Year went to Pakistan skipper Babar Azam, who has also been nominated in the category of ODI Cricketer of the Year at the ICC Awards for 2021. 406 runs in six ODIs In the category of Women’s Cricketer of the Year- 2021, the PCB jury awarded experienced all-rounder Nida Dar with the award. In 10 ODIs, she scored 363 runs and took six wickets while in two T20Is she scored 95 runs and took seven wickets in the limited international matches that Pakistan Women were able to play this year. There was no doubt as to who was going to be named T20I Cricketer of the Year as bypassing Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 1326 runs in 29 matches at a strike rate of more than 130 and bagged five Player of the Match awards and four Player of the Series awards in the shortest format this season, was anything but possible. And therefore he was rightly given the honours and became the only person to walk away with two awards in the ceremony. The second biggest honour after the MVP had to be Test Cricketer of the Year-2021 and the PCB jury awarded this to Hasan Ali who won in a tough battle against Shaheen Afridi, Fawad Alam and Abid Ali, all of whom performed exceptionally well as well. Hasan claimed 41 wickets in 2021 which included a 10-for against South Africa in his comeback game after two years and it was on his home ground of Rawalpindi as well. There were five five-fors as well for him and he won two Player of the Match awards as well as one Player of the Series award this year. The Spirit of Cricket Award 2021 went to the moment when Pakistan team members went to meet members of the Namibian cricket team in their dressing room after the match between the two sides in the T20 World Cup in 2021. Asif Yaqoob went on to win the Umpire of the Year award for the second year in a row and he thanked his colleagues for picking him once again as the Umpire of the Year is awarded based on the votes by umpires and match referees. Sahibzada Farhan of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa was awarded the Domestic Cricketer of the Year 2021 award. In this year, the right-hander scored freely and accumulated 1869 runs in all formats combined. Out of which the 25-year-old scored 487 runs in Pakistan Cup the 50-over tournament, 447 in National T20 and 935 in Quaid-E-Azam Trophy, the First Class tournament. PCB Chairman Rameez Raja, while speaking on this occasion, said, “I congratulate all the winners. All of them richly deserve the awards and accolades they are getting based on their performance this season.”