• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Athapaththu Khaka Luus And Fatima Sana Signed Up For Wcpl And 6Ixty League

 Athapaththu, Khaka, Luus and Sana signed up for WCPL and 6ixty League

A total of nine foreign players have signed on the dotted line for the first season of the Women's Caribbean Premier League (WCPL). Sri Lankan skipper Chamari Athapaththu and the South African trio of Ayabonga Khaka, Chloe Tryon, and Sune Luus are some of the big names who will take the field in both WCPL and the 10-over tournament Sixty league.

image-l6x8la5pChamari Athapaththu is a Sri Lankan legend

Pakistan's up-and-coming all-rounder Fatima Sana and New Zealand's Hayley Jensen have also been selected for the marquee event.

USA's Snigdha Paul, Isani Vaghela, and Geetika Kodali will feature across the three teams — Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, and Trinbago Knight Riders.

The total number of squad members is restricted to 14. WCPL will be conducted from August 24 to September 4. 

Team Compositions

The Royals will be led by Hayley Matthews, who will have Sana, Tryon, and Shakera Selman under her wings. 

​The Warriors will be in the hands of Taylor, who will have Sri Lanka's highest T20I run-getter Athapaththu and South Africa Women's Player of the Year, Khaka, to marshal.

​Riders look the most sorted with Deandra Dottin taking charge. CWG 2022 medalist Jensen will be joined by Luus and Anisa Mohammed, who form a devastating bowling pair.

Squads for WCPL

Barbados Royals: Hayley Matthews (c), Shakera Selman, Fatima Sana, Chloe Tryon, Snigdha Paul, Reneice Boyce, Mandy Rangru, Britney Cooper, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Afy Fletcher, Qiana Joseph, Japhina Joseph, Chinelle Henry

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Stafanie Taylor (c), Shermaine Campbell, Chamari Athapaththu , Ayabonga Khaka, Isani Vaghela, Rashada Williams, Rachel Vincent, Kaycia Schultz, Chedean Nationa, Cherry-Ann Fraser, Shamilla Connell, Karishma Ramharak, Shabika Gajnabi, Zaida James

Trinbago Knight Riders: Deandra Dottin (c), Anisa Mohammed, Hayley Jensen, Sune Luus, Geetika Kodali, Lee Ann Kirby, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, Natasha McLean, Sheneta Grimmond, Caneisha Isaac, Jannillea Glasgow, Steffie Soogrim, Shawnisha Hector

Also Read: Rachael Haynes re-signs with Sydney Thunder for WBBL 08