• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Alick Athanaze Earns Maiden Call Up As West Indies Announce Squad For 1St Test Against India
Kaushik Kashyap ∙ Updated: Jul 8 2023, 9:18 AM | 2 Min Read

Alick Athanaze Earns Maiden Call-Up as West Indies Announce Squad For 1st Test Against India

image-ljtgdspcAlick Athanaze (Left) earned maiden call-up. [Twitter]

On Saturday, Cricket West Indies announced the men's squad for the first Test of the two-match Test series against India, scheduled on July 12 at Windsor Park in Dominica. 

The Cricket West Indies Selectors Panel picked a 13-member squad and two travelling reserve players for the first Test. Kraigg Brathwaite will continue to be the Test captain, with Jermaine Blackwood playing his deputy.

Kirk McKenzie and Alick Athanaze earned maiden call-ups after piling truckloads of runs in the domestic and for West Indies A. McKenzie had a couple of good innings for West Indies A in the recent tour of Bangladesh, while Athanaze was the highest run scorer in the recently concluded West Indies Championship with over six hundred runs in five matches.

Off-spinner Rahkeem Cornwall, who was the highest wicket-taker in the West Indies Championship, earned a recall in the Test squad for the first time since November 2021. Left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican also gets a place in the squad, while fellow left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie is out of the first Test due to injury.

Jayden Seales is not included in the 13-member squad as he is not quite fit enough for the five-day contest despite making good progress in his rehab from surgery. In addition, star all-rounder Kyle Mayers also misses out with a niggle and, as a precaution, is not included in the squad for the first Test.

West Indies are coming into this series on the back of a huge setback as they failed to qualify for the upcoming ICC Men's World Cup 2023 in India. So, they will be hoping to turn things around in the longest format with the two-match Test series against India.

West Indies squad for 1st Test vs India

Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain), Jermaine Blackwood (Vice , Alick Athanaze, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kirk McKenzie, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach and Jomel Warrican.

Traveling Reserves: Tevin Imlach and Akeem Jordan