Vishal Mehra ∙ Mar 17 2023, 10:00 AM | 1 Min Read

PSL 2023 | Babar Azam Betters Chris Gayle in Unique T20 Feat

image-lfc0qrskBabar Azam in action [Source: Twitter]

Pakistan's run-machine Babar Azam etched yet another record to his name when he became the quickest batter to breach the 9000-run mark in T20 cricket last evening.

Azam, during his knock of 64 against United in Eliminator 1 of the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023, achieved this milestone, surpassing legendary West Indies opener Chris Gayle

The stylish right-handed batter attained the feat in 245 matches as opposed to Gayle's 249. Others in the top five quickest batters include India's Virat Kohli (271), Australia's David Warner (273), and Aaron Finch (281). 

Quickest to 9000 T20 runs

  • Babar Azam - 245 matches
  • Chris Gayle - 249 matches
  • Virat Kohli - 271 matches
  • David Warner - 273 matches
  • Aaron Finch - 281 matches

Interestingly, Azam has scored the most T20 centuries (8) since 2019, ahead of England's white-ball skipper Jos Buttler (6).

In the ongoing PSL, the 28-year-old has slammed 480 runs, including five fifties and one hundred, and is the second-highest run-getter so far.

Azam-led Peshawar Zalmi will be in action tonight against Lahore Qalandars in Eliminator 2, where the winner will face Multan Sultans in the PSL 8 final tomorrow.