• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Bpl 2023 Tanvir Islams New Ball Blitz Narines Onslaught Place Victorians In Final

 Tanvir Islam’s new-ball blitz, Narine’s onslaught place Victorians in final

image-le1lt6k5Islam celebrates a wicket with Litton Das (Source: BCB)

Defending champions Comilla Victorians are all set to feature in their second successive BPL final after they scythed through the Sylhet Strikers in Qualifier 1. Eying their fourth BPL title, they will now face their final hurdle on February 16 in Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

Notably, they have now won 10 matches in a row this BPL 2023 season.

Tanvir Islam, Andre Russell suppress Strikers from the outset

Comilla Victorians’ Tanvir Islam dismissed Strikers’ well-set opener Najmul Hossain Shanto before packing up their Zimbabwe-import Ryan Burl for a first-ball duck. Moreover, the 26-year-old also ran out their number three batter Towhid Hridoy and snared a smart catch to send back Strikers’ captain Mashrafe Mortaza.

Andre Russell and Bangladesh veteran Mustafizur Rahman also claimed two wickets apiece as they folded up the Strikers for just 125 inside 20 overs.

In an innings marred with seven single digit scores, only opener Shanto and middle-order batters Mortaza and Mushfiqur Rahim crossed the 20-run mark. Meanwhile, the remaining eight wickets accounted for just 26 runs between them.

Sunil Narine’s onslaught at the top shatter Strikers’ last hope

In response, Victorians opener Sunil Narine cracked an 18-ball 39 at the top. While the rest of the top-order failed to get going, the remainder of the run-chase was carefully anchored along by Mosaddek Hossain, Moeen Ali and Andre Russell past the finishing line.

The Victorians eventually romped through their task with four wickets and 20 deliveries still intact in the game.

For the Strikers, senior paceman Rubel Hossain frequently posed questions with the ball but received little support from his teammates to contain the run-chase. He picked three wickets in total, including one of dashing opener Litton Das within the powerplay.

Brief scores:

Sylhet Strikers: 125 (17.1)

Najmul Hossain Shanto 38 (29), Mushfiqur Rahim 29 (22)
Andre Russell 2-22, Mustafizur Rahman 2-25

Comilla Victorians: 130-6 (16.4)

Sunil Narine 39 (18), Mosaddek Hossain 27* (27)
Rubel Hossain 3-33, Shafiqullah Ghafari 1-21

Comilla Victorians won by 4 wickets