• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Bbl 12 Brisbane Heat Confirm Signing Of Three Players

BBL 12: Brisbane Heat confirm signing of three players 

image-l8mwc0beBrisbane Heat

The Brisbane Heat have signed up three players for the 12th edition of the Big Bash league - Spencer Johnson, Will Prestwidge and Josh Brown. Fast bowlers Johnson and Prestwidge have been included in Heat's senior list, while top order batsman Brown has been named as a local replacement player. All the three players impressed in the recent KFC T20 Max competition.

Brisbane Heat head coach Wade Seccombe on the contract 

"Spencer is a promising left-arm pace bowler who has been on the fringes of the BBL for the past few seasons, but the decision he made to come to Queensland and play in the KFC T20 Max competition has been well vindicated," 

"He had the best economy rate (5.0) of any of the pace bowlers during the competition and as a left-armer provides additional variety in our bowling depth. Likewise, everyone who faced Will Prestwidge in his games for Norths noted he was the quickest bowler the batsmen dealt with during the series. There was some interest in him from other BBL clubs, and we like what he showed last season as a COVID replacement for the Heat, so we are keen to develop him further,” 

Brown, meanwhile, was the leading runs-scorer at the T20 Max with 447 runs at an average of 55.88 and strike rate of 212.

The 2022–23 Big Bash League season will be the twelfth season of the T20 tournament. The round-robin phase of the tournament is scheduled to take place from 13 December 2022 to 4 February 2023. Perth Scorchers are the defending champions, having won their 4th title in the last season. 

Also Read: Jasprit Bumrah ruled out of T20 World Cup 2022