Vishal Mehra ∙ Updated: May 23 2023, 12:41 AM | 4 Min Read

Know The NO-BALL| What is a NO-Ball in Cricket and its TYPES!

image-lhsvo97zUmpire Richard Kettleborough signals a no-ball during ICC T20 World Cup 2022 [Source: Twitter]

For the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, several rules were tweaked for making lives better for on-field umpires, however, on a few occasions, the outcome has been questioned. ​One of the main bones of contention has been the waist-height no-ball decisions, which has been in the limelight this season. 

Apart from waist-height no-ball, this IPL has seen front-foot no-balls as well, which have changed the outcome of results for their respective franchises. However, these are not the only type of no-balls in cricket. 

According to Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), who are guardians of the laws of cricket, a no-ball is an illegal delivery bowled by the bowler towards the batter, that will be counted as extras.  

Firstly, the no-ball is not counted as a legal delivery and will have to be bowled again, which will be called a free-hit in ODI and T20s, that is not the case in Tests, and falls under Law 21 of MCC. 

In his list, let's have a detailed read into the various types of no-ball. 

Front foot no-ball

The most common mode of no-ball is front foot no-ball, where the bowler's leading foot lands either on or ahead of the popping crease, and has no part of the boot behind the white line.

Back foot no-ball

A back foot no-ball is called when the trailing foot of the bowler touches the return crease when the ball is released. As per law 21.5, the back foot should land within the marked area on either side of the wicket. 

No-ball for touching the return crease

If both feet of the bowler are not within the return crease at the point of delivery, the umpire can call it a no-ball.

Waist height no-ball

The most contentious of no-ball, it refers to when a bowler delivers the ball which is above the waist height of the batter. If a bowler bowls two waist-height full tosses, the umpire can remove him/her from the attack.

Over-head no-ball

An umpire can call an over-head no-ball if the ball passes over the batter standing in an upright position within the popping crease. 

No-ball for ball bouncing multiple times

A no-ball can be called if the bowler bowls the ball, and it reaches the batter after bouncing multiple times or rolls on the pitch. 

If the ball lands outside the designated pitch, it will instantly be called a no-ball. 

No-ball for breaking stumps in the bowling stride

The umpire can call for a no-ball if the bowler during his delivery stride manages to dislodge the stumps at the non-striker's end while in finishing motion. This is a fairly recent addition to the laws.

No-Ball for chucking

If the leg-umpire feels that the bowler has bowled the ball with an illegal action then the on-field officials can call it a no-ball. At the point of delivery, the bowler's arm must be straight and must be within 15 degrees of flex, anything beyond that is deemed illegal.

No-Ball for underarm bowling

A law brought in after an infamous underarm ball by Australia's Trevor Chappell, any delivery that is a bowler with an underarm action will be deemed a no-ball, irrespective of the number of bounces.  

No-Ball for failing to declare bowling action

Before any spell, the bowler tells the umpire about his bowling preferences, which is then reiterated to the batter by the official. If the bowler fails to bowl as per declared bowling action, the umpire will declare it a no-ball.

No-Ball for fielder intrusion

If a fielder intrudes a delivery bowled by the bowler, before it reaches the batter, the umpire shall call it a no-ball.

A no-ball can also be called if the fielder encroaches on the pitch or the wicketkeeper collects the ball ahead of the stumps. 

No-Ball for dangerous bowling

If the umpire feels that the bowler is bombarding a tailender with head-high bouncers again and again, or bowling bodyline stuff they can call it a no-ball.

Leg-side No-Ball

If there are more than two fielders behind the square leg region on the on side, the umpire will call for a no-ball. 

No-Ball for throwing the ball before completing the action

If the bowler throws the ball toward the batter without completing his/her action, the umpire can call for a no-ball.

No-Ball if the ball stops before reaching the wickets

In case a delivered ball stops before the striker's stumps, without any connection with the bat or batter, the umpire shall rule the ball as a no-ball.