• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Western Australia Win Their First Sheffield Shield Title In 23 Years

Western Australia win their first Sheffield Shield title in 23 years

Western Australia have lifted their first Sheffield Shield title in 23 years after the final ended in a draw at lunchtime on Monday in Perth.

The home team secured a first-innings bonus point advantage on the third day as Western Australia had outscored Victoria in each side's first 100 overs. So WA only had to draw the match to secure a victory.

WA cricket has been on song after winning both BBL and WBBL and the men's 50-over competition.

But securing the Shield win was hard-earned as Victoria looked threatening on the field for the start of the second innings to have Western Australia in trouble at 110 for five on day four.

Cameron Bancroft piled up 141 runs in the first innings. However, he couldn't repeat his heroics in the second innings as Scott Boland removed him for a score of 0. Hilton Cartwright, captain Shaun Marsh, Josh Philippe and young gun Teague Wyllie were sent back cheaply.

Sam Whiteman and Aaron Hardie put up a 174-run partnership to get themselves back on track.

Whiteman was eventually knocked over late on Sunday for a very well-made 123, while Hardie managed to stay unbeaten up to lunchtime declaration on Monday with 174 runs in the bag.

Captains of both sides shook hands as Victoria had no chance of winning on the last day as they were still trailing by 480.

Whiteman consumed 517 deliveries across his two knocks, scored a crucial 85 in the first innings, and was awarded the man of the match.

WA left-arm seamer Joel Paris played a significant role in securing the bonus points earlier in the game. He got two crucial scalps of Jono Merlo and Nic Maddinson, which started Victoria's first innings.

This is WA's 16th Shield win, but first for Shaun Marsh, who made his debut for the side 21 years ago.

17-year-old Wyllie, who played his second first-class match, became the second-youngest after Pat Cummins to win a Sheffield Shield title.