• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Tnpl 2022 Arun Karthiks Century Goes In Vain As Nellai Royal Kings Outclass Smp By 26 Runs

TNPL 2022 | Arun Karthik's century goes in vain as Nellai Royal Kings outclass SMP by 26 runs

Arun Karthik's combative century went in vain as Sichem Madurai Panthers lost the high-scoring thriller against the league leaders Nellai Royal Kings by 26 runs in the 10th match of the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2022 on Tuesday.  

Chasing a daunting target of 210 runs, Siechem Madurai Panthers' batters succumbed to scoreboard pressure as they kept losing wickets at equal intervals with Arun Karthik holding one end tightly.  

It was a one-man army show for SMP as Karthik whacked 106 runs off 57 balls to keep the Panthers active in the chase. Skipper N Chaturved (15-ball 27) and Jagatheesan Kousik (20-ball 21) also played quick cameos but couldn't take the team past the finish line. 

Karthik's wicket was last to fall for Madurai Panthers; with his departure, all the hopes for SMP's victory were forfeited. Except for the forenamed trio, none of their batters could cross the 5-run mark as the team fell 26-run short of the target. 

For Nellai Royal Kings, NS Harish bagged 3 wicket haul and conceded 30 runs in his quota of 4 overs. K Easwaran also got a couple of wickets for NRK. 

Earlier, Nellai Royal Kings, after putting to bat first progressed to post the highest total of this season thanks to ferocious batting performance from opener Sri Neranjan (47) and star all-rounder Sanjay Yadav, who yet again stepped up for his side and bludgeoned unbeaten 70 runs off just 42.   

Following Ranjan Paul's early dismissal for 10 runs, skipper Baba Aparajith joined forces in the middle and contributed with a quick 27-ball 34 cameo. 

Baba Indrajith also had his share of contributions with the bat as he smacked 34 runs off just 18 balls and shared an unbeaten 100-run stand with Sanjay Yadav for the fourth wicket to propel NRK to a mammoth total of 209/3 off 20 overs.   

For Siechem Madurai Panthers, Kiran Akash yet again shined with the ball, picking up 2 wickets in his quota of 4 overs, followed by R Mithun, who got one wicket by conceding 14 runs in his 2 overs. 

It was the first defeat for Siechem Madurai Panthers in the season while Nellai Royal Kings continued their good run in the tournament, bagging their fourth straight win to retain their top spot in the TNPL standings. 

Brief Scores:

Nellai Royal Kings: 209/3 (20 Overs) 

Sanjay Yadav 70* (42), Sri Neranjan 47 (27); Kiran Akash 2-44 (4) 

Siechem Madurai Panthers: 183/8 (20 Overs) 

Arun Karthik 106 (57), N Chaturved 27 (15); N Harish 3-30 (4), K Easwaran 2-31 (4) 

Nellai Royal Kings Won by 26 runs

Discover more
Top Stories

Pakistan move ahead of India in WTC Points Table after a two-point penalty

The Indian team suffered a double heartbreak, as they lost the fifth and final Test match of the England series on Tuesday, and were also docked two World Test Championship (WTC) points. Apart from the penalty of two points, the match fee for the Indian team has been slashed by 40% for the same offence that occurred at Edgbaston. With this penalty, Pakistan have risen above India in the WTC points table to settle at the third position with three wins and 44 points in the 2021-23 Cycle. Although the Indian team has 75 points, they lag behind their arch-rivals in terms of point percentage (PCT). India has a point percentage of 52.08, while Pakistan is slightly ahead with a PCT of 52.38 per cent. The England batters, Joe Root and Jonny Bairstow, were dismissive of the Indian bowlers to complete their highest-ever successful run-chase of 378 in the history of red-ball cricket. Article 2.22 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel states that every player will be fined 20 percent of his match fee if their respective team fails to complete the stipulated overs. Furthermore, Article 16.11.2 of the ICC WTC playing conditions suggests that a team will be penalized one point for each over short. The Jasprit Bumrah-led side fell short by two overs. Hence are docked a couple of WTC points and are fined 40 percent of their match fee. In the current WTC cycle, the Indian team must win almost all their remaining six matches to secure a place in the final. The upcoming assignments for the team in the longest format are the two-match Bangladesh series and the four-match series against Australia. Match referee David Boon imposed the sanction after consultation with the on-field umpires Richard Kettleborough and Aleem Dar, third umpire Marais Erasmus and fourth umpire Alex Wharf, who levelled these charges.