T20 World Cup 2022: Zimbabwe announce squad, Craig Ervine returns 

image-l8395ilyZimbabwe Cricket Team / PC: Twitter

Skipper Craig Ervine returns to national duty as Zimbabwe, on Thursday (September 15) announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20I World Cup, set to be played in Australia next month.

The squad also marks the return of their star players Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, and Milton Shumba, who have been out of action for quite some time now owing to their respective injuries. 

Towering pacer Chatara was recovering from a collarbone fracture while pace spearhead Blessing Muzarabani, who recently travelled to Australia but didn't play a game has finally recovered and is set to roar again with his fiery pace at the international stage.

Wellington Masakadza and Shumba are coming back from shoulder tendon and quadriceps injuries respectively. Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi, and Tanaka Chivanga have found a place on the standby list.  

Earlier in July, Zimbabwe defeated the Netherlands and won the ICC Men's T20I World Cup Qualifier B to secure the final spot in Group B in the First Round at Australia 2022 alongside Ireland, Scotland, and West Indies. 

Zimbabwe will kick off their ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2022 campaign against Ireland on 17 October at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Tasmania before taking on Sri Lanka and Namibia in warm-up matches on 10 and 13 October. 

Zimbabwe T20 World Cup Squad: 

Craig Ervine (c), Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams

Reserves: Tanaka Chivanga, Innocent Kaia, Kevin Kasuza, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Victor Nyauchi

ALSO READ: England skipper Jos Buttler heaps praise on Alex Hales