• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Sri Lanka Announces Squad For Nz Series As Pace Spearhead Ruled Out Of The White Ball Leg

Sri Lanka Announces Squad for NZ Series as Pace Spearhead Ruled Out of The White-Ball Leg

image-lfcjcz2gDushmantha Chameera (Twitter)

Sri Lanka ace speedster Dushmantha Chameera will miss the white-ball leg of the ongoing tour of New Zealand due to fitness issues.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) confirmed that Chameera, who underwent ankle surgery, has failed to complete his rehabilitation in time for the white-ball games.

The frontline seamer was earlier included in the squad but his inclusion was subject to fitness. Now since he has failed to get the medical clearance, the pacer will remain on the sidelines. He will be replaced by Matheesha Pathirana in the ODI squad. Pramod Madushan will replace Chameera in the T20I squad.

Sri Lanka have also included uncapped all-rounder Lasith Croospulle and Sahan Arachchige in the white-ball squads.

Veteran batters Angelo Mathews and Kusal have been recalled into the white-ball setup. Mathews will return to the ODI team after a two-year hiatus after selectors named him Friday to its squad for the one-day series against New Zealand. To manage the workload, Perera has only been included in the T20I team. This series marks his first appearance on the international stage after a gap of 16 months.

Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Nuwan Thushara, and Jeffrey Vandersay are among the notable absentees from the squad.

The three-match ODI series will begin on March 25 at Eden Park in Auckland. Following the ODI leg, the T20I series will kickstart on April 2 at the same venue.

Sri Lanka's ODI squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Nuwanidu Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Charith Asalanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sahan Arachchige, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana.

Sri Lanka's T20I Squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Janith Perera, Lasith Croospulle, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Nuwanidu Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne, Matheesha Pathirana, Pramod Madushan.