• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Road Safety Series 2022 Brad Haddin Seals Thriller For Aus Legends Against Bangladesh

Road Safety Series 2022 | Brad Haddin seals thriller for AUS Legends against Bangladesh

image-l87q1ougShane Watson plays a shot against Bangladesh Legends

Australian Legends wicketkeeper Brad Haddin struck three boundaries of the final three balls to pull off a sensational heist against Bangladesh Legends at Indore. The win by the Shane Watson-led side marked their first of the ongoing 2022 Road Safety World Series, and handed Bangladesh their third defeat of the season.

Haddin, Watson agents of a spectacular Australian run-chase

The two sides faced each other at Indore’s Holkar Stadium in match number 11 of the tournament. Australia Legends skipper Shane Watson used up as many as eight bowlers in the Bangladeshi innings after the former all-rounder won the toss and opted to field first.

Notably, seven of those eight Australian bowlers picked a wicket each, while the only wicketless bowler, Brad Hodge, affected a runout to send Aftab Ahmed packing back to the pavilion. New-ball duo Brett Lee and Dirk Nannes shattered Bangladesh at the top itself, leaving them gasping at 62-5 with the help of Bryce McGain and George-Horlin Smith.

Elias Sunny scored the only 30-plus score of the innings, striking a 29-ball 32* to help Bangladesh reach 158-9 off their 20 overs.

The Australian run-chase launched confidently before losing its plot in the middle. Skipper Watson clubbed a solid 35 within the powerplay before a mini-collapse reduced them to 122-7 at the end of 17 overs.

Requiring 38 runs off the final 18 balls and 21 off the final six, Brad Haddin sparked an outbreak of boundaries in the death to snatch a remarkable victory for his side. He compiled 58 unbeaten runs off just 37 deliveries and struck three boundaries and four sixes in the process. Each of his three boundaries were also the highlight of the run-chase, coming off the final three balls of the match.

Brief scores:

Bangladesh Legends: 158-9 (20)

Elias Sunny 32* (29), Alok Kapali 20 (20)
Dirk Nannes 1-2, Nathan Reardon 1-11

Australia Legends: 159-7 (20)

Brad Haddin 58* (37), Shane Watson 35 (21)
Elias Sunny 4-8, Abdur Razzak 2-26

Australia Legends won by 3 wickets

ALSO READ: Raj Bawa recalls Curtly Ambrose’ advice ahead of New Zealand A series