• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Rilee Rossouw Out Markram To Lead As South Africa Name Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

Rilee Rossouw Out, Markram To Lead As South Africa Name Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

Markram will captain South Africa in T20 World Cup [X]Markram will captain South Africa in T20 World Cup [X]

Cricket South Africa has unveiled its 15-player squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 as they kick-off a new chapter under the leadership of Aiden Markram, who will captain the side in an ICC event for the first time.

The announcement came on Tuesday, adding a fresh twist to the team’s dynamics as they prepare to compete in the tournament set to unfold in the USA and West Indies starting June 1.

South Africa reveal squad for T20 World Cup 2024

The squad sees the return of Anrich Nortje and Quinton de Kock, both of whom had recently been left off Cricket South Africa's central contract list.

Nortje makes a comeback after a hiatus since September 2023 due to a back injury, while De Kock has pivoted his focus exclusively on the shorter formats after retiring from ODIs post the World Cup 2023, having previously stepped away from Test cricket in 2022.

Ryan Rickelton and Ottniel Baartman, who have both made their mark in the SA20 league, have earned their maiden T20I call-ups.

Rickelton was a standout performer, topping the scoring charts with a whopping 530 runs at an impressive strike rate of 173.77 for MI Cape Town, while Baartman claimed 18 wickets for the reigning champions Sunrisers Eastern Cape.

The team also boasts a robust batting contingent with seasoned players like Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, and the emerging Tristan Stubbs.

The South African squad for T20 World Cup 2024 also has a formidable pace attack spearheaded by Kagiso Rabada and Nortje, with Marco Jansen and Gerald Coetzee in tow. The spin department will be manned by Bjorn Fortuin, Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi.

“Selecting this group was extremely tough considering the amount of T20 cricket that has been played recently and the form that has been on show. I am nonetheless proud and confident that we have named the strongest possible squad that no doubt has every chance of success in the West Indies and USA," South Africa's white-ball coach Rob Walter said. 

South Africa squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Aiden Markram (c), Quinton de Kock, Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs

Travelling reserves: Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi.