Sahaj Nair ∙ Jun 26 2022, 4:15 PM | 2 Min Read

Ranji Trophy Final | Madhya Pradesh defeat 41-time champions Mumbai; clinch their maiden Ranji title

A huge day for the Madhya Pradesh cricket team as they won their first ever Ranji Trophy defeating Mumbai in the final. Soaking in the Bangalore crowd's applause, they will return home as state heroes, having led the team to its maiden title. 

Madhya Pradesh clinched their maiden title by defeating heavyweights Mumbai by six wickets in the final on Sunday. Needing 108 runs to win the top honours, Madhya Pradesh rode Shubham Sharma's 30 and Rajat Patidar's unbeaten 30 to reach the target in the second session. 

Mumbai chose to bat first after winning the toss. Powered by Sarafraz Khan's brilliant ton, along with valuable contributions from Yashaswi Jaiswal and Prithwi Shaw, Mumbai posted 374 on the board. Gaurav Yadav was the pick of the bowlers for MP, taking 4-126. 

In response, Shubham Sharma, Rajat Patidar and Yash Dubey all scored centuries to help Madhya Pradesh reach 536. Kumar Kartikeya Singh shone with the ball in the second innings as he picked up four wickets on the back of which Madhya Pradesh bowled Mumbai out for 269 on Day 5.

 Suved Parkar scored 51 off 58 while Sarfaraz Khan added 45, but Mumbai kept losing wickets at regular intervals to be bundled out for 269 in the first session. 

While Kartikeya picked four, Gaurav Yadav and Parth Sahani snared two wickets each. On the previous day, Mumbai put on a brisk batting show in their second innings and reached 113 for two at stumps, having played 22 overs.

MP faced hiccups in their run-chase, but the cool, calm head of Rajat Patidar steered them past the winning line.

Brief Scores:

Mumbai (First innings) 374

Sarfaraz Khan 134 (243), Yashasvi Jaiswal 78; Gaurav Yadav 4/106 (35.4 overs)

Madhya Pradesh (First innings) 536

Yash Dubey 133 (336), Rajat Patidar 122 (219); Shams Mulani 5/173  (63.2 overs)

Mumbai (Second innings) 269

Suved Parkar 51 (58), Sarfaraz Khan 45 (48); Kumar Kartikeya 4/98 (25.0 overs)

Madhya Pradesh (Second innings) 108/4

Himanshu Mantri 37 (55), Rajat Patidar 30 (37); Shams Mulani 3/41 (13 overs)

Match Result: Madhya Pradesh won by 6 wickets