• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Pakistan National T20 Cup 2022 Final Sindh Thump Khyber Pakhtunkhwa By 8 Wickets To Seal The Title

Sindh thump Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by 8 wickets to seal the title

image-l897s63lSindh claim the 2022 Pakistan National T20 Cup [Image Credits- Twitter]

Sindh claimed the 2022 edition of the Pakistan National T20 Cup on Monday as they thumped Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by 8 wickets in the summit clash in Multan on Monday, September 19.

Chasing a poultry total of 140, Sindh rode on yet another blistering opening partnership from the duo of Sharjeel Khan 53 (36) and Saim Ayub (36 off 24).

The duo wiped off half the target in just 7.1 overs before Saim Ayub's entertaining display was ended by Mohammad Sarwar.

It did not matter one bit though as Sharjeel continued to thump the white ball to all corners of the stadium.

The southpaw hammered four 4s and as many sixes during his 36-ball 53 and by the time he was eventually dismissed- at the score of 109- the game was well and truly dusted and unbeaten cameos from Omair Yousuf (21* off 12) and Saud Shakeel (18* off 16) put a final stamp on it.

Sohail Khan's spell blew Khyber Pakhunkhwa away

Earlier, Sindh rode on sensational bowling from the Sohail Khan-4-18 in 4 overs- led attack to knock over Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for just 140.

Khan dealt early blows as he removed Sahibzada Farhan (4 off 2) and Kamran Ghulam (16 off 11) cheaply.

Asif Mahmood (2/35 in 3.5) and Mir Hamza (2/32 in 4) chipped in brilliantly by claiming two wickets apiece.

Opener Rehan Afridi (43 off 41) played out 41 deliveries but he not infuse any sort of momentum in the innings and it was only because of handy cameos from Mohammad Sarwar (30 off 20) and Khalid Umran that Khyber were able to reach the 140 mark.

It didn't matter in the end though as Sindh raced their way to the title.

Brief Scores:

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 140/10 (19.5)

Rehan Afridi 43 (41), Mohammas Sarwar 30 (20)
Sohail Khan 4/18 (4), Mir Hamza 2/32 (4)

Sindh 141/2 (14.4)

Sharjeel Khan 53 (36), Saim Ayub 36 (24)
Mohammad Sarwar 1/10 (2), Arshad Iqbal 1/43 (4)

Result: Sindh won by 8 wickets

Also Read- Five bargains from the SA20 auction