• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Nz Vs Ban Fazle Mahmud Replaces Shakib Al Hasan In Bangladeshs Test Squad

NZ vs BAN | Fazle Mahmud replaces Shakib Al Hasan in Bangladesh's Test squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced Fazle Mahmud, the leading run-getter in National Cricket League (NCL), Bangladesh’s premier First-Class tournament as a replacement for Shakib Al Hasan for the national team’s New Zealand tour. 

The decision was made after BCB granted Shakib the leave which he had asked for to avoid touring New Zealand for two-match Test series in the new year. Mahmud, who made 603 runs at an average of 60.30 in the NCL is a left-arm top-order batter and part-time left-arm spinner. 

The 33-year-old who has so far played 94 First-Class games having made his domestic debut way back in 2004, has played ODI cricket for Bangladesh but was never named in a Test squad. In ODIs too he played only two games against Zimbabwe in October 2018 but was out on zero in both matches.

In another development, Rangana Herath, who was part of the Bangladesh set up during the T20 World Cup and the run-up to it, has rejoined the team as spin bowling consultant for the New Zealand tour. 

Bangladesh will be playing two games which would be part of the WTC 2021-23. The Tigers have played two Tests in the WTC so far, but have lost both the games. 

Bangladesh squad for New Zealand tour

Mominul Haque (capt), Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Fazle Mahmud, Liton Das (wk), Nurul Hasan (wk), Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Shohidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mohammad Naim

Discover more
Top Stories

BBL 2021-22 | Perth Scorchers vs Brisbane Heat: Matthew Kelly anchors Perth to positive start

Perth Scorchers etched a 6-run win against Brisbane Heat in Perth on Wednesday as they bundled out the opponents for 151 while chasing 158 in 20 overs. The Brisbane side didn’t really have a good start as they lost early wickets and were reduced to 105/6 in the 14th over. While Sam Heazlett (34 off 17) and Xavier Bartlett (34* off 25) tried to gather some runs, they didn’t really get much support from the other end and the side eventually suffered a defeat. Matthew Kelly was the pick of the bowlers for Scorchers after picking up a four-wicket haul at the cost of 28 runs in 4 overs. Earlier, the Perth side lost an early wicket in the form of Munro but Bancroft and Kurtis Patterson came in for the rescue with a partnership of 68 runs for the second wicket. While Bancroft was dismissed for 25, Patterson went on the notch up a fifty during the course. Later, captain Ashton Turner chipped in with a valuable 28 off 19 to help his side put 157/6 in 20 overs. Kelly who was adjudged man of the match acknowledged the positive start that the team got. “Great to start off with a win, was fantastic to come and play in front of the home crowd. Didn't get the hat-trick, but it was a great performance overall by all the bowlers - Jason, AJ chipped in as well - didn't have a great time around last season, but have worked hard and this was a great result to start off the tournament,” he said after the match.


Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22: Ruturaj Gaikwad steals the show with scintillating ton

Maharashtra captain Ruturaj Gaikwad was on a roll in Rajkot on Wednesday after he struck a match-winning century while chasing a target of 329 runs against Madhya Pradesh. Beginning the chase, Gaikwad and Yash Nahar were off to a steady start as the two batters put 107 for the first wicket before Nahar was dismissed for 49 by Mihir Hirwani. While Rahul Tripathi who had later walked in at number four struck a fifty, Gaikwad went on to score 136 off 112 to eventually win the match for the side. Earlier, in the day, the Madhya Pradesh batters had a terrific time in the middle as Abhishek Bhandari notched up a half-century while Shubham Sharma and Aditya Shrivastava scored individual tons during the course to help the side put 328/6 in 50 overs. Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai Tamil Nadu etched an easy win against Mumbai after beating them by 54 runs while defending a target of 291 in 50 overs in Thiruvananthapuram. The Tamil Nadu team rode on some fine piece of batting from Shahrukh Khan who struck 66 off 35 that included five maximums and six fours. Later, Mumbai batsmen didn’t really get into the groove and were eventually bundled out for 236. Manimaran Siddharth returned with figures of 3/43 in 10 overs for his team. UP vs Saurashtra Saurashtra’s Chriag Jani scalped a fifer for his side against Uttar Pradesh as they clinched a victory by 32 runs. Chasing 224, UP were bundled out for 191 despite fifties from Almas Shaukat and Rinku Singh. Jani returned with figures of 5/35 in 9.1 overs. Other results Goa beat Assam by 5 wickets Services beat Railways by 5 runs Rajasthan beat Punjab by 6 wickets Nagaland beat Manipur by 8 wickets Meghalaya beat Sikkim by 164 runs Tripura beat Arunachal Pradesh by 210 runs Mizoram beat Bihar by 7 wickets Gujarat beat J&K by 5 wickets Odisha beat Andhra Pradesh by 63 runs Delhi beat Jharkhand by 6 wickets Kerala beat Chandigarh by 6 wickets Chhattisgarh beat Uttarakhand by 21 runs Bengal beat Baroda by 27 runs Karnataka beat Puducherry by 236 runs Hyderabad beat Haryana by 5 wickets