• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Cpl 2022 Tkr Vs Sknp Rutherford Cottrell Seal A Thriller For Patriots

CPL 2022, TKR vs SKNP: Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell seal a thriller for Patriots

image-l8dghsb0Sheldon Cottrell (PC: Twitter)

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots secured a seven-run victory over the Trinbago Knight Riders in Match 26 of the Caribbean Premier League on Thursday (22 September) at Guyana. 

Rutherford propels Patriots to a strong total

Patriots started off on a precarious note with the early dismissals of their openers, Lewis (15) and Andre Fletcher (2). Arriving at number three, Keacy Carty could score only 5 off 11.

Nevertheless, Sherfane Rutherford and Darren Bravo (23) led the team's fightback and added 66 runs for the fourth wicket. Rutherford continued his sensational hitting to score 78 off 50, laced with six fours and five maximums. 

Interestingly, Dewald Brevis wreaked havoc with his knock of 30* off 6 balls, comprising five sixes, resulting in the Patriots finishing on a total of 163. Daryn Dupavillon was the pick of the bowlers for Knight Riders with three scalps. 

Knight Riders fall short

In response to the chase, Knight Riders lost Leonardo Julien (1) and Colin Munro (3) in the first four overs. However, the in-form Tim Seifert and skipper Kieron Pollard resurrected the team's innings, which in turn provided them stability. 

The 57-run stand was broken by Dwayne Bravo, who sent Pollard (31) back to the hut. Soon, Nicholas Pooran (15) was dismissed as well. Then, Seifert (59) tried well to accelerate, but Dwayne took his wicket in the penultimate over. 

At his full flow, Andre Russell (29) was taking the game away from Patriots, but Sheldon Cottrell clean bowled him to help the Patriots win by seven runs. 

Brief Scores: 

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots - 163/6 (20)

Sherfane Rutherford 78 (50), Dewald Brevis 30* (6);
Daryn Dupavillon 3/38

Trinbago Knight Riders - 156/7 (20)

Tim Seifert 59 (47), Kieron Pollard 31 (36);
Sheldon Cottrell 3/33, Kevin Sinclair 2/18

Result: Patriots won by 7 runs

Read more: Road Safety Series 2022: Sachin Tendulkar stars in India Legends' win over England