County Championship 2022 | Division Two Round-Up, September 8

image-l7tk7y74Ben Raine (PC: Twitter)

A neck-neck competition between the four teams was witnessed between four teams in County Championship Division Division Two. Here's a sneak peek into the results of the fixtures which concluded on Thursday.

Derbyshire vs Durham

Derbyshire started Day 4 on 185/7 with Anuj Dal and Ben Aitchison at the crease. The duo added 27 runs in the first hour before Dal was dismissed for 28 by Ben Raine. Aitchison remained unbeaten on 25, as the team declared on 214/9, and set a target of 298. 

In response, Michael Jones continued his bright form to steer the team at a brisk rate. However, Aitchison breached his defense to secure a much-needed breakthrough for Derbyshire. Then, the skipper Scott Borthwick started well, but could not convert his start. 

Afterwards, Nic Maddinson (32) and Liam Trevaskis (42*) were proficient to end the match as a draw and denting hopes of Derbyshire for the promotion to Division One. 

Brief Scores:

Derbyshire (1st innings)- 306/10 (95.2)

Leus du Plooy 82 (124), Harry Came 78 (196)
Chris Rushworth 3/60

Durham (1st innings) - 223/10 (79)

Micheal Jones 87 (152), Jonathan Bushnell 35 (91)
Sam Conners 4/55

Derbyshire (2nd innings)- 214/9d

Wayne Madsen 58 (85), Billy Godleman 43 (141);
Ben Raine 5/43

Durham (2nd innings) - 176/5 (53)

Liam Trevaskis 42* (57), Nic Maddinson 32 (59);
Mark Watt 2/37

Result: Match Drawn

Worcestershire vs Glamorgan

image-l7tjnw2aChris Cooke (PC: Twitter)

Glamorgan began the Final Day on 241/8, with Ajaz Patel and Chris Cooke at the crease. With five overs into the Day's play, Ben Gibbon induced an edge of Patel (10). Then arrived Michael Hogan, who hit a straight six, to open his account. 

However, Dillon Pennington made Hogan (12) holed out to Jack Haynes, and end Glamorgan's innings on 295. Cooke remained unbeaten on 51 off 97 balls. 

Then, the Brett D' Oliveira-led side enforced a follow-on. But, only nine balls were possible, before rain caused the game to end as a draw.  

Brief Scores:

Worcestershire (1st innings) - 454/9 (138)

Gareth Roderick 172*(348), Joe Leach 87 (143);
Timm van der Gugten 4/81

Glamorgan (1st innings)- 295/10 (85,3)

Shubman Gill 92 (148), Eddie Byrom 67 (92);
Dillon Pennington 4/67

Glamorgan (f/o)- 5/0 (1.3)

David Lloyd 4* (7);

Result: Match Drawn

Read more: WTC 2022-23 Final Likely To Move From Lord's To The Oval