• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Bpl 2022 Chattogram Challengers Steal A Win In Last Ball Thriller Vs Minister Group Dhaka

BPL 2022 | Chattogram Challengers steal a win in last-ball thriller vs Minister Group Dhaka

In an exciting finish to the game, Chattogram Challengers stole a final-ball win against Minister Group Dhaka. Dhaka while chasing 149 in 20 overs, needed 6 off the last ball with Mrittunjoy Chowdhury having the ball in his hand. Chowdhury missed to nail a yorker on this delivery and instead bowled a waist-height no-ball bringing the equation down to 5 off 1. 

But the bowler soon corrected his error as he only gave away one run on the final ball to win the match for his side by three runs. 

The Minister Group Dhaka side lost three early wickets during the course of the chase and were reduced to 21/3 before Tamim Iqbal joined hands with skipper Mahmudullah to steady the ship for the team. 

The two batters chipped in with a stand of 71 runs for the fourth wicket before the captain departed for 24 off 29. Tamim was then joined by Shuvagata Hom who struck a brisk 11-ball 22 before getting out to Shoriful Islam. 

While the opener remained unbeaten at 73 off 56 eventually, he couldn't take the side home as they were restricted to 145/6 in 20 overs. 

Chowdhury and Islam picked up a couple of wickets each for their side. 

Earlier, in the day, the Challengers rode on Shamim Hossain's fifty and a late surge from Howell who scored 24* of 19 to put 148/6 on the board despite losing wickets at regular intervals. Arafat Sunny was the pick of the bowlers for his side as he returned with figures of 1/16 in three overs. 

"It was a very important match for us. If we lost we were out of the tournament. After the early wicket we were trying to build a partnership. Shamim played a really good innings to get us to that total. Mrittunjoy bowled really well and every other bowlers bowled well, a total team effort," Afif Hossain said after the match. 

Discover more
Top Stories

Quit cricket and drive autos: Mohammad Siraj opens up on abuse after IPL 2019

Mohammad Siraj might be the frontline pace bowler for India in the ongoing West Indies series, but it was not long ago that he was not taken seriously as a white ball bowler in the Indian Premier League circuit. Before his meteoric rise in the Australia tour of 2020, Siraj was struggling for form at the Royal Challengers Bangalore and revealed in a podcast that in 2019 he believed his career was over. “People said ‘quit cricket and go back and drive autos with your father,” the loved Miyabhai told RCB Podcast. He referred to the over bowled against Kolkata Knight Riders in 2019 when he bowled two beamers before being taken out of the attack by umpires. Siraj had gone for 36 in his 2.2 overs and was smacked for 5 sixes in that game. "There were so many such comments. And people don't see the struggle behind all this. But I remember when I first got selected how Mahi bhai [MS Dhoni] told me to not listen to everything the people have to say about me. 'You do well today and they'll praise you and when you don't the same people will abuse you. So don't ever take it seriously,’” Siraj added. Currently famed for his ability to bowl to the left handers, Siraj has saw his stocks rise through the roof after troubling David Warner in the red ball format. But this was not the case back in 2019 when he felt that his IPL career was on the line. Siraj thanked the franchise for having his back during that time and stated that any other franchise in RCB’s position would have let a bowler like him go after that horrid run of form. "2019, the performance with RCB was so bad that I thought that's the end of my IPL career," he said. "But then I realised that I still have age on my side. So I decided to trust myself a bit and thankfully the RCB management also backed me a lot at that time. I almost thought any franchise in their position would have let go of a bowler after that kind of performance, but they backed me and then 2020 the game against KKR was a life-changing game for me."


NZW vs INDW | Only T20I: New Zealand, India face off in only T20I in Queenstown

New Zealand and India women's teams will play each other in the only T20I in Queenstown on Wednesday (February 9, 2022). The T20I game will be later followed by five ODIs. Mithali Raj who won't be a part of this T20I has said that the fixtures will be helpful for the players to give them an understanding of the conditions. “It is a different format. The team will be looking forward to winning the game. Having said that, this T20 will also give a fair idea about the wickets, how the players are coping with open ground,” Raj said in a virtual media interaction. “We are here to use this series as preparation for the World Cup because it is the best way we get to know about the wickets and composition we will have next month. We want to put in our best standard of cricket so the team derives a lot of confidence when getting into the World Cup," she added. Match Details Match: NZW vs INDW, Only T20I, India Women tour of New Zealand, 2022 Date: Wednesday, February 09, 2022 Time: 5:30 AM Venue: John Davies Oval, Queenstown Telecast The matches will be live-streamed on the Amazon Prime app in India. New Zealand Women Squad Sophie Devine (c), Katey Martin (wk), Suzie Bates, Amy Satterthwaite, Maddy Green, Amelia Kerr, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Hannah Rowe, Jess Kerr, Lea Tahuhu, Fran Jonas, Rosemary Mair, Lauren Down, Frances Mackay India women squad Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Richa Ghosh (wk), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Renuka Singh, Ekta Bisht, Sneh Rana, Sabbhineni Meghana, Meghna Singh, Taniya Bhatia, Simran Bahadur Probable XI India: Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav New Zealand: Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Amy Satterthwaite, Maddy Green, Amelia Kerr, Katey Martin (wk), Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Kerr, Hannah Rowe Fantasy XI Katey Martin, Smriti Mandhana, Suzie Bates (VC), Harmanpreet Kaur, Shafali Verma (C), Sophie Devine, Deepti Sharma, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Lea Tahuhu