Twin centuries & one blistering Prithvi Shaw knock light up Vijay Hazare finals

Somya Kapoor

Somya Kapoor

Author| Mar 14, 12:10 PM

Photo: BCCI
Photo: BCCI

Mumbai were crowned champions of the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Sunday after they defeated Uttar Pradesh in the title clash in Delhi's Arun Jaitley Stadium. Chasing a massive total of 313 runs, Mumbai rode on Aditya Tare’s maiden List A hundred and captain Shaw’s brisk 73 off 39 to get over the line in the 43rd over.  

Tare took 107 deliveries to score his unbeaten 118 runs. All-rounder Shivam Dube played a vital role in Mumbai’s win after he stitched a stand of 88 runs for the fourth wicket.  Mumbai began the proceedings well after openers Shaw and Yashasvi Jaiswal put 89 runs on the board for the first wicket. But they lost a couple of wickets in quick succession to see Shams Mulani coming in at number 4.  

Tare and Mulani then steadied the ship for Mumbai and scored 88 runs for the third wicket. But Mulan’s departure in the 31st over had the side in a fair bit of bother before Dube and Tare joined hands and anchored the chase. Yash Dayal, Shivam Mavi, Shibam Sharma and Sameer Choudhary picked up a wicket each for Uttar Pradesh. Earlier, UP after winning the toss elected to bat first and posted 312/4 in 50 overs, courtesy an exceptional batting display from opener Madhav Kaushik. Kaushik remained not out on 158 off 156.  

Kaushik’s opening partner Samarth Sharma notched up a half-century as the two provided a good start to the team. Both the batsmen began the innings in a cautious manner but started to accelerate as soon as they got their eye in.  UP did lose a couple of wickets in the middle overs but Akshdeep Nath and Kaushik’s partnership of 128 runs for the fourth wicket helped them posting a big total on the board. Tanush Kotian scalped a couple of wickets for Mumbai while Prashant Solanki had one to his name. Kaushik’s 158* is now the highest score in the Vijay Hazare Trophy Final while Shaw ended the tournament as the highest run-getter. The right-handed Mumbai batsman scored 827 runs in 8 matches at an average of 165.40 and four centuries.  

This is the fourth instance when Mumbai have lifted the Vijay Hazare Trophy.  Winning captain Shaw hailed the team’s performance and credits everyone for success. “Everyone contributed in this tournament, it wasn't an individual. From the support staff, the players, this trophy goes to everyone. Tare batted so well today. It could have gone anyway in that situation and everyone was happy for him because finishing isn't easy. I have been captaining from a very young age. I have captained under-14s, under-16s, under-19s, India A and I enjoy this process. It was difficult in Australia, and the only thing I wanted to do was go back and work hard, fill the gaps and come back strongly,” he said.

  • Prithvi Shaw
  • Aditya Tare
  • Madhav Kaushik
  • Shivam Dube
  • VHT 2021

Share News On

Read Next

More News