Craig Ervine retained as skipper as Zimbabwe announce 15-man squad for Sri Lanka tour

Abhishek Singh

| Jan 8, 2:31 PM

news image

Zimbabwe announced a 15-man squad for its tour to Sri Lanka starting this January. Veteran batter Craig Ervine has been retained as the captain of the Chevrons as they will take on the Lankan Lions in a three-match one-day international series which will be part of the CWC Super League. 

The Super League will determine seven teams alongside hosts India on the basis of points to enter directly into the 2023 ODI World Cup. 

All three matches will be day-night affairs and are scheduled for 16, 18 and 21 January 2022 respectively at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

The 15 man squad that has been selected for the tour includes two uncapped batters Takudzwanashe Kaitano and wicketkeeper Clive Madande. Alongside them, all-rounder Tino Mutombodzi has returned to the national side as well. 

While these new players have been rewarded for their great showing in the Pro-50 domestic championship held in Harare this week, old guns like Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza and Regis Chakabva has been retained in the side as well. The Zimbabwe team will leave for the tour this Saturday.


Ervine Craig (captain), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chatara Tendai, Jongwe Luke, Kaitano Takudzwanashe, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessly, Masakadza Wellington, Mutombodzi Tinotenda, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Williams Sean

Share News On